Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Hello Everyone!

Hello all, I'm new here and figured I should introduce myself a bit.

My name is Matt, but I've gone by the name Sigurthr (or Sig for short) for more than a decade now. I'm a "retired" TIG/MIG welder and metal fabricator. I suffered a severe wrist injury which forced me into "retirement" at an early age. I'm currently self-training in electronics hoping to change careers one day. I'm also an Amateur (Ham) Radio operator - W8SIG Extra Class Licensee, and a classically trained Flutist and Ocarinist. I maintained and repaired Radiation detection equipment as a side job for a while, and have become rather experienced in detecting and handling radioactive materials.

I'm not new to lasers but very out of touch. My first laser was a 0.7mW 670nm diode I got back in 1992 and I remember it cost me around $75 for the diode alone. I got an old half-dead HeNe tube shortly after that and built the HV driver for it out of an old neon sign PSU that was also half-dead. Lasers were just too expensive back then.