Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Hello everyone

I am new to this forum and pretty new to lasers. I have always been fascinated with lasers/laser pointers and I recently decided to get a powerful one... You know which one I am talking about. ARCTIC :wtf:
I have over the past few days been reading about laser safety and about safety glasses. I still have many questions so I thought I would join a forum, what better forum than laserpointerforum? Haha. And yes I know I should probably not get a laser with this much power if I am a noob, that's why I am reading up on stuff. I read that the S3 Arctic will have a 5% or 10% power option + the training lens which will cut it down even more. If you are running a 1000mW laser at 10% power wouldn't that = 100mW which is not SUPER dangerous from what I've read.. If so then I will probably keep it on that power for a long time until I feel like I have a good enough understanding of laser safety to bump up the power. I am saying all this because I want you guys to know that I am not one of the "immature" users that just want to blind pilots and start fires. BTW My name is Taylor and I am from San Diego, California.

WELCOME TO L.P.F. !!!!! yahh we are all waiting in the dark......i do have a custom built 445 1.2 w thats keeping me satisfied tho...

I am new to this forum and pretty new to lasers. (...) 100mW which is not SUPER dangerous from what I've read...

Hello Taylor,

Well, 100 mw is still pretty dangerous, since many lasers in that power range can pop balloons, light matches, and almost instantly burn off your retinas.