Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Hello! and sell me ur lazr plz

Hi everybody! Complete newb here, looking to add one more hobby to my already overstressed budget. Recently, I took a hike up a local mountain at night with some friends. While at the top, a friend of one of those friends pointed his green, then purple laser pointers at us from his house, 2 miles away, beam visible the whole way. That did it for me - I must have one. BUT, I really can't figure out what the difference between 532nm, 1W, 5mw and other such terms mean, and honestly, I'm too lazy to bother reading enough to find out. I'm more used to things measured by only one type of energy. I'm not a hardcore hobbyist, just a consumerist tool. So, without further ado, here is what I am looking for - surely someone here will have one?

Do you have a cool toy you're just plain done with? I'm looking for a handheld laser pointer that is powerful enough that I can see it on something 1000+ feet away, but not necessarily able to burn holes in plywood (although that would be cool), used, and around.... $50? Like I said, I am completely ignorant, so if $50 isn't enough to get a good unit, I can go up. It just has to be used My color preference is blue, green, then purple. Not a fan of red.

BTW, I think it's pretty rad that I found this forum of knowledgeable people regarding a topic I previously thought would be near impossible to find info on. Thanks!

Ah, and I am in S. Oregon.

My apologies for the crappy post. I have read more on the subject. I should have read some stickys first. Still more to find out.

Biffy,

I think it's good that you took another look at things... To understand -- A lot of people put a lot of work here into their research, builds, learning, and stuff like that.