Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Heating power of a 20 watt infrared bar diode?

Hi there,

I am currently studying botany at university and for a current project we are studying the toxins and pheromones within different plants etc.

To do this we vaporize plant matter and extract different compounds.

im interested in building my own using an infrared laser bar diode as the heating element - this one is for sale on ebay Oclaro 20w 808nm DCS diode laser bar Prolite | eBay - same as in the picture pretty much

So my question is what would be the ability of a bar diode to heat a 2cm x 2cm sample of plant matter evenly and effectively to around 200 degrees Celsius?

is this even possible with a bar diode? would i have to use lenses?

i understand that i wont need all of 20watts otherwise it will probably set the sample on fire

20W-High-Power-Laser-Diode-Bar.jpg

It would likely do the job, however I don't see much of a way to regulate the temperature, since how hot the materials got would depend on the IR absorption of the materials themselves. And that would be a moving target since it would change with different materials.

It should be simple enough to solve the equations for 20W of radiative heat transfer. The physics are extremely simple and easy to learn.