Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

HD DVD laser diode drive

I am new to the laser craze! I had a 5mw greenie that was a dpss laser, but it sucked. So i recently pulled a Violet diode from a fairly new and reliable HD DVD play. I want to make a reliable pointer out of it. From what i have been reading, these diodes are sensative to voltage spikes, I ordered a Lava2 Micro drive, but have yet to recieve it. Does anyone know if this was a good choice? I figured for the 30 bucks i don't really care. But i don't want to ruin my diode, and i want it to run at its full potential.

Sounds like your off to a good start.
What kind of HD DVD player is it? Any chance we could get some pictures or a video?

HD DVD players usually have a pretty powerful violet diode in them and pretty much all of them are capable of at least +100mW's. Voltage spikes don't hurt them AS MUCH as the long dead ps3 diodes.

Daguin has a pretty good tutorial on violets here --> http://www.laserpointerforums.com/forums/YaBB.pl?num=1219161671

Daguin pushed these things quite far and they have held up to 190ma's but some aren't able to go that high.

--hydro15

Thanks for the info!! It was a Toshiba. I will be posting pictures for sure, Possibly a video. I'm a machinest, So i am working on a sleek aluminum housing for it. Once the driver arrives i can finish that. I am also making my own housing for the diode and culminater. Should this project go well, I'll be eager to start something new!! I have always had a life long facination with lasers.

wow I'm learning alot here. I fear I'm in over my head though. Obviuosly I don't want to just connect my diode to the drive. What measures should I take first and how will I gauge my lasers MA and Mw?? I was going to use the lense out of a red pointer. Bad idea??