Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

grid patter with a laser

hi im new to the laser community but i am very interested in finding a laser pointer that projects a grid, i work with visual fx and green screen and i always have to use tape on the wall to create a grid that helps me in the compositing of the shot later in post production and also with the camera tracking, thats a time consuming task and i would like to know if there is a laser , (green laser) that can be used to project the grid, also i would like to be able to adjust the grid distortion in situations where im no able to project directly from the front. and the PERFECT LASER would be one that besides of projecting also measure the distance and angle.. i think if someone here has the technical skill to create that i would appreciate and pay for it.. anyway i found a level laser that measurer angle and distance i just need one that projects the grid

thanks

HIMNL9

There are already camera units that incorporate lasers for targeting and distance / dimensional evaluation (with a pc and a specific program, ofcourse), but first, usually are professional units for underwater use, and second, costs an eye and a lung (the cheaper ones :p :D)

They use six independent lasers drived in scan sequence, 3 aligned with the camera axis, and 3 diagonals, with a fixed angle, and the software calculate the distance of the diagonal dots from the distance of the parallel ones, and give you the distance and estimated dimension of the target from the image on the monitor.