Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Green Lazer Pointer for Astronomy

I am an avid amateur astronomer and am in need of a new green laser pointer. I have been looking all over the internet and have seen many laser stores but dont really know who to trust and what not. Examples of companies i have been looking at: Tmart, o-like, ekindom, lazerer, and wicked lasers. I am looking for a 100mw to 200mw green laser Im not sure what would be better for astronomical purposes. I want it to be a good quality laser and not emit harmful IR, but my budget is $100-150 the cheaper the better! Can anyone help me find a laser? It has to be able to ship to Michigan USA.

Last edited:

Blord

For astronomy 100mw to 200mw green laser is WAY TOO MUCH. It kills also the night adapted vision you have. You need 5mW-20mW for pointing star.

Last edited:
@Madmacmo that post wasn't that helpful because it didn't recommend any 20-30mw green laser pointers to purchase.

Blord

If you dont mind Blord what 20mw green laser pointer would you recommend?

You need to put links to lasers you want. I don't have time to look at all the companies and searching for a green laser for you.

Also how can i purchase a 100mw green laser if the FDA has regulations on lasers??

Blord

Buy a 5mW green pointer. It has no import restrictions.

This question gets asked a lot.

For just pointing around at stars, 5mW is ok. I like 50mW on a dry, clear night (beam is slightly less visible without humidity. Less than 50mW is usually perfect.

For mounting to a telescope as a guide, 100-200mW is great. It's just visible enough to be seen clearly through a telescope so finding objects is easy.

If you want a high quality 5mW:
The Wicked Lasers Core gets good reviews.
I prefer to shop at Z-bolt.com and Laserglow.com