Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Glow in the Dark Fun

Hey,

I'm Dave and just recently got into lasers after coming up with an idea. I'm a freshman in college and was thinking it'd be cool if I could make a glow-in-the-dark (GITD) poster that could be "written" on with a laser pointer to put in my dorm room. After looking around the net it looks like I'm not the first person to come up with this idea, and I've seen the GITD BB's with the Blu Ray laser pointer and such. It looks pretty cool.

I tried making a Blu Ray laser pointer with minimal success - it's not lasing, just giving off the purple LED glow. I think I was too rough with it, probably broke it.

Then I realized: originally I thought I would just have to get a small wavelength laser pointer to excite the GITD compound. But then I found some GITD stuff that instead of glowing green, it glows red.

Question: I've heard the general rule of thumb with GITD stuff is a smaller wavelength than is emitted is required to excite the GITD compound. Hence, green GITD stuff is excited by blue, violet, ultraviolet, etc. So it would still hold that if I got red GITD paint (it glows red when it's excited), it should be excited by green, blue, violet, ultraviolet, etc. Is this correct?

If this is true, I'm just going to buy a cheap green laser pointer. Does anyone have any suggestions for a nice 5 mw green laser pointer? I'm looking for cheap in price but not cheap in quality. Should I even bother checking eBay?

Thanks!

Dave

Benm