Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Fitting module into host

Ok, I know I'm sounding like a total noob here, but how hard is it fitting, say, a 50mW (12mm diameter) module into a rayfoss waterproof torch host (fits 12mm modules? Would I really need a vice or something for it? And I've heard some people talking about "bypassing the switch". What is that and do I absolutely need to do that?

And all I'll really need to build a laser is those two things right, the 50mW module from o-like and the rayfoss host?

Geez what a noob I am

Thanks

Krutz

i dont have the host, but from what i read about hosts offered here in general, you slide the module in and secure it with a holding screw, thats all.
perhaps you mix it up with inserting a 5.6mm bare laserdiode in an aixiz housing, where you need a vice.

switch: when you get the module, you have to push the switch to lase. in your host, you want to use the hosts switch instead, you cant even reach the modules switch. therefore you short it, so its "on" always. its as simple as connecting the switch's pins with a wire soldered on. you should have a little experience with soldering, though. but you could of course give it to a friend to solder too. no big thing.

have fun, good luck!

manuel

Hi, no that is incorrect Krutz. Sorry Byrnz93 about the laser.. but i will still try help you out.. im not on much any more but if i see a post from you i will help you out.

First off just order the rayfoss host (in description add which color you want), then order the module (in the description add that you want a print or email of the power output of your module).