Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

First Red Build (The Continuing Saga of DIY Goodness)

I've been working on a laser for several weeks now. LOTS of reading and learning new things... waiting on parts... putting things together... waiting for more parts...

I love it.

So I thought I'd share my experiences with you. :D

I've had some electronics experience waaaay back in high school, but nothing very spectacular. I know the basics, how to solder (badly), etc. I'm a tinkerer at heart and lasers are right up may alley. So why not build one, right?

I thought that a red laser would be perfect for my first project. The diodes are relatively cheap, which makes it a little less painful if/when you kill one.

So I bought a sled, ordered all the electronic components, and set out to work on my 660nm death ray.

I soldered together a rough LM-317 based DDL driver from this infamous diagram:

LM317%20components01.jpg

Thing went together relatively smoothly and the results can be seen here:

1zyvpkj.jpg

And it worked great. The only problem was that I was not maximizing the full potential of the diode. The max that I could achieve was 241mA, when i was reading that you could drive these diodes at 420mA and even up to 500mA.

I needed more power.

Unfortunately, like I mentioned, I am no electronics wiz, so I only had an idea of what I needed to do to the circuit in order to improve the output.... I had to decrease the resistance.