Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

First Red build, combined with Blue 405; then back to red

I am still a newb to the high power laser world. I freely admit it. I welcome criticism and ideas as I continue my building experience with these particular devices. This posting is slightly long, as it contains two separate builds with one working laser as the result.

I had some time to work with this past week due to freezing rain over snow that made the roads faster to travel with ice skates than a 4x4 truck with chains on all 4! With that, here is my first red build combined with a blue 405 build gone wrong:

Red build:

I started with a 16x memorex dvd burner that had a bad motor, so I reckon that the diode is near a 650nm unit.

The host is a Husky 9 LED flashlight (available from Home Depot in 6 packs for $10 around Christmas time). I chose this as my host as the light circuit board had gotten too wet after an offroad expedition. It is a side push button switch, which is nice for the first one.

attachment.php