Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

First Laser Build Questions

Hi,

I'm interested in building my first laser and have a few question. First I'm an electrical engineer and have a decent working knowledge of circuits and general construction. My overall goal is to build a 1W 405nm laser, however I'm going to start small. I've designed a generic driver circuit that I believe will work with some minor modification up to 2A of continuous current. Attached is that schematic.
I have some questions regarding the housing of the diode however. The diode will fit inside a module, usually from aixiz. Is this the part that requires a press fit tool? Then the entire module fits inside a heatsink? Is there anywhere I can look to get examples of how the actually assembly of the diode should work and what I would need for this module, heatsink lens etc? Thank you very much for your assistance.

Attachments

• driver.JPG
    driver.JPG
    20.6 KB · Views: 1,048

Hey MHertzField,

First of all, welcome to this forum :)

Now, we all appreciate the DIY aspect of the hobby but there's no need to go around inventing new types of circuits when we already have everything we need to power everything we need.

Next, there's slight error in your plan. If you want around 1W of power or more, you do not want a 405nm diode, you want a 445nm diode. There's quite a difference.

Next, you'll read these diodes being pushed as high as 2.1 W of output, 2.3 Amps of current and what else... to be clear, that's just for novelty and sh*ts and giggles.

If you want your diode to live up to impress a fair amount of friends, and pay off being pricey build as it is, you do not want to go above 1.5 A of current.

Now, about pressfitting.