Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

First Build + Tutorial for $55 445nm labby!!

Hello from South Africa!

Inspired by so many other CPU cooler builds, I decided my first diy build would be a lab laser. It's not professional but is IS cheap, durable and impossible to overheat. What more could I ask for? :p

I am a total newbie. Here's how I did it,, NOOB STYLE!!!:

What you need:

-Ca$$i0 A140 diode: $40 - DTR and others sell these on lpf
-Aixiz module: $4 - HighTechDealZ - Aixiz Laser Module - Blank
-Glass aixiz lens: $8 - ebay or look around on lpf
-Heatsink: $2
-Other components.. a few more $ - local electronics store. View driver link.

Heatsink & drilling:

Went to a e-scrapyard and got a cpu heatsink. 2$.
Tip: You will save big munneh if you get scrap value (without functioning fan) vs 'secondhand' value.

NOTE: Copper-core ones are very difficult to drill - I think because the copper expands when it gets hot, making the hole too small for your drill bit which gets stuck.
I would advise you to use aluminium unless you want to spend ages, dunking in cold water and with lots of stuck bits.
Remember to use oil and work your way up to 12mm GRADUALLY. This actually saves time because you do not have to wait for the copper to cool down before continuing. I used: 2mm, 5mm, 7mm, 10mm, 11.5mm (i think this really helped to get a perfect finish) and finally 12mm. No fancy reamer, just care, love and affection. And a slow drill speed :whistle:

Tip: Put in dishwasher to get rid of all drill oil.
attachment.php

Installing module: