Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers



Laser Pointer Store

Finally broke down and bought a FLUKE 115

Seoul_lasers

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 4, 2008
Messages
2,490
Points
83
Alright, with all the issues with my Hioki DMM not measuing mV properly nor mA I decided it would be time to run and get a FLUKE 115. I went by the FLUKE dealer in Jeongro, Downtown seoul.

The FLUKE 115 doesn't need a testload to measure mA on DC-DC convertors (LED drivers etc) it has 1mV-1mA accuracy.
 

lasersbee

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
17,505
Points
113
Alright, with all the issues with my Hioki DMM not measuing mV properly nor mA I decided it would be time to run and get a FLUKE 115. I went by the FLUKE dealer in Jeongro, Downtown seoul.

The FLUKE 115 doesn't need a testload to measure mA on DC-DC convertors (LED drivers etc) it has 1mV-1mA accuracy.


or a Link...


BTW... could you kindly explain this....:thinking:
I don't know of any meter that needs a Test Load...:undecided:


Jerry
 
Last edited:

Asherz

New member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
1,627
Points
0
BTW... could you kindly explain [COLOR="Orange"][B]this....[/B][/COLOR]:thinking:
[COLOR="Magenta"]I don't know of any meter that needs a Test Load...[/COLOR]:undecided:


Jerry[/QUOTE]

I think he's talking about a dummy load for setting current on a driver, so I think he means his meter can just be hooked up directly too the driver and measure current.

Without the need for the 4/6 1400N1 diodes a 1ohm resistor.
 

lasersbee

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
17,505
Points
113
I would suggest using the test load to mimic the load of a
Laser Diode if he wants to set up his Driver without a Laser
Diode...

He was not talking about a Driver but his Fluke DMM...

Most DMMs can test Current on the mA or Amp scale...

Jerry
 
Last edited:

laser_freak

New member
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
673
Points
0
Alright, with all the issues with my Hioki DMM not measuing mV properly nor mA I decided it would be time to run and get a FLUKE 115. I went by the FLUKE dealer in Jeongro, Downtown seoul.

The FLUKE 115 doesn't need a testload to measure mA on DC-DC convertors (LED drivers etc) it has 1mV-1mA accuracy.
I am also confused by this. Why doesn't it need a test load? What does a 1mW-1mA accuracy have anything to do with not needing a test load? A test load is used to mimic the energy consumption by the diode allowing you to accurately measure the mW and mA 'consumed' by the diode.
 

Seoul_lasers

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 4, 2008
Messages
2,490
Points
83
I am also confused by this. Why doesn't it need a test load? What does a 1mW-1mA accuracy have anything to do with not needing a test load? A test load is used to mimic the energy consumption by the diode allowing you to accurately measure the mW and mA 'consumed' by the diode.
Woops I think I should explain again. I was tired.

Ok, well I use a dummy load but instead of using the mV setting, I switch to mA and it gives me an identical reading if I switch over to V dc.

example running off my Korean driver. Gives me 3.5vdc out 0.53mV accross the resistor, if I switch to mA and measure from the lead connections I get ~531mA on the meter.
 

Pontiacg5

New member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
2,524
Points
0
I don't see the benefit of that :undecided:

Any meter does that
 

Eudaimonium

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Messages
6,311
Points
83
Woops I think I should explain again. I was tired.

Ok, well I use a dummy load but instead of using the mV setting, I switch to mA and it gives me an identical reading if I switch over to V dc.

example running off my Korean driver. Gives me 3.5vdc out 0.53mV accross the resistor, if I switch to mA and measure from the lead connections I get ~531mA on the meter.
I don't get it, besides isn't this supposed to be in "Other" section? Or heck, make a nice review with a lot of nice pictures, maybe a video, and post in "Review" section.
 

Seoul_lasers

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 4, 2008
Messages
2,490
Points
83
Well
Anyways, I like the fact that the fluke doesn't have the problems that the HIOKI has.
The hioki likes to fantom volt on the mV setting whereas the Fluke remains stable and doesn't fantom as badly.

I rebuilt my dummy load and it appears I got a dud diode. so now both meters measure the same mV-mA. Also I replaced one of the leads on the Hioki. apparently the lead was faulty as well. -- 2 working DMMS now.
 

Seoul_lasers

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 4, 2008
Messages
2,490
Points
83
I don't get it, besides isn't this supposed to be in "Other" section? Or heck, make a nice review with a lot of nice pictures, maybe a video, and post in "Review" section.
Just explaining that I got another DMM, not a review. just expressing my happiness with FLUKE.



Ah. NEVERMIND just delete this thread.
 
Last edited:

Eudaimonium

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Messages
6,311
Points
83
No, man , I'm serious!
I wasn't ranting or anything.

Really, take sum picz and video of it in action, and if you are happy with it, reccomend it to the forum!

Why not? :D
 

MarioMaster

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Messages
3,643
Points
63
Phantom voltages? You do know that voltages of that level are certainly possible as the leads of the dmm act as antennas for radio waves. All ADC type data systems will do that if there is nothing connected to the input...
 

CrazyMonkey

New member
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
102
Points
0
Yeah, I just got a Fluke 287. I like it, but it is rather large compared to most handhelds!
My crappy meter would read 500ma on the high scale, and 250 on the low scale.
50% accuracy, not ok.

I had a $700 fluke apart I had apart to clean.. My cousin knocked a can of soda on it.
Was never the same. no amount of time and isopropyl alcohol would fix it.. It's nice to have a proper meter again!

Both my meter's can do current measurement, but its still better to have a 0.1ohm(or 1ohm) in series with the diode.
That way you don't break the circuit, and risk damaging the diode if you forget to bleed the power in a cap in the driver.
(with a 0.1 ohm you x10 the voltage drop across it to get ma. 10x less power to dissipate in the resistor!)


Fluke 287
 




Top