Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

fibreoptic coupled red laser for disinfection

I am a researcher doing my phd in laser disinfection i Need a 650-660 red laser coupled to a fibrooptic of 400um in thickness and 5 cm in length.The power at the end must be atleast 100mw. i have tried all ends up , but could not find a cheap alternative to test my hypothesis.My study is totally self financed so i need a affordable one.please help me.

Ooh. Me too. I could use a couple of these. Except I'm making taillights for my car. Not quite as noble of a deed as what you are up to.

Eh... but 400um is huge. You would surely lose polarization and all coherence. What does this coupled beam need to look like? What you need on the output will determine what goes into the fiber and and how it is effectively coupled.

did you already tried to use a simple toslink coupler? With some modification you can easily use them with Aixiz modules (without focus/collimator lens). And Toslink cables are available in all kind of size/core diameter etc.

-mo-

I am a researcher doing my phd in laser disinfection i Need a 650-660 red laser coupled to a fibrooptic of 400um in thickness and 5 cm in length.The power at the end must be atleast 100mw. i have tried all ends up , but could not find a cheap alternative to test my hypothesis.My study is totally self financed so i need a affordable one.please help me.

Could you check your hypothesis without a fiber? Shine and observer. It will save you some monies.

Last edited:
I can save you some time: red lasers do not disinfect. Not unless the power is high enough to also destroy whatever the microbes are residing in.

OuPh4.gif

But he said dye. Why would you think it's more correct to use a laughably ambiguous term like chemicals?