Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Electronic techinical question?

Dave88

Hi guys,

Long time viewer; first time poster.

This is a complete noob question but I have a very limited knowledge of engineering principles and hopefully some of you will be ably to help, here goes.

I live in the UK and am a member of a target shooting club, the sight I currently have on my pistol is OK but not great. I have a 405nm and 532nm laser pointer which I bought off eBay. I would like to use the 405nm pointer as a sight but the pistol's barrel isn't long enough to accommodate the full laser pointer so I thought if I could unscrew and separate the battery end and laser end and connect the along the barrel parallel to each other then they would fit quite comfortably. My question- is there anyway I could connect the power half to the actual laser end using wire etc.

I understand this is a complete 'tit' of a question but I have trawled the net for the last few nights for info on the subject and haven't found any.

Thanks
Dave

Electricity doesn't care how a connection is made, as long as it's made - be it a contact spring or wire, it's pretty much the same regarding the operation of the circuit.

However another question is brought up - generally, if the laser isn't specifically made as a targeting sight for a firearm, it's a bad idea to use it as one. Lasers are surprisingly fragile pieces of technology, and they will not stand the weapon's recoil forces, at least not for extended periods of time.

532nm DPSS modules more so than others, the crystals inside get knocked out of alligment if you look at them the wrong way on Mondays.