Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Effects over time?

So, I'm an electronics hobbyist, and recently my family had a DVD burner die on us. I had seen a couple youtube videos of what an extracted DVD laser + lens could do, and decided to go about making my own pointer. Unfortunately, I neglected to look up the safety information. :-[ I did know enough not to look into the beam though. Those 5mW lasers carry warnings, so I figured that once I got a lens, looking into the DVD's 200mW would be absolutely idiotic (seems to be the general consensus on the power rating of DVD diodes around the internet, correct me if I'm wrong).

So anyway, I extracted both the red DVD diode and the infrared CD diode. I killed the CD diode by hitting it with 9 volts (intentionally, invisible beams with the ability to blind me are not something I want around, or someone else to have the ability to have around in such a small package), but I tested the DVD diode. I don't have any sort of lens for it yet, so it never developed a "spot", and I haven't looked straight into it, but I did shine it at my desk (wood-grain matte finish) at close range for a bit and look at the red glow, which I'd say looked similar to a super-bright LED more than a laser.