Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Does anyone feel your days of lasers are numbered?

D

Delorean Geek

I'm pretty new to the whole laser pointer thing. The only reason I got this far was my 2yr old 170-200mw greenie quit and I got a little re-interested into the higher poewred lasers.

I just bought my second high power laser from another member(400+mw 532) and my newly acquired Arctic. I didn't really buy them for anything except to just show off and keep in my office. The reason I got them was this:

It's only a matter of time before some idiot takes his pointer to a NASCAR race at night or a sporting event and starts blinding players/drivers. One high powered pointer pointed at a elected official during a public event, anything of that nature and it's light out. I think we are already seeing that with customs confiscating some of the Arctics. I just have a feeling these high powered lasers are going to get harder and harder to acquire, which is why I bought a few.

Does anyone else feel that high powered laser sales in the US are about to come to a halt, or are there just too many out there to control?

Your Fear is well founded. We are seeing Very High power lasers now Cheap enough for anyone to get them. We are going to see things change for that exact reason, more idiots can get one and be stupid.

We see kids bringing guns to school and are posting on youtube them mob stomping some poor kid. We live in a culture of "violence solves problems". We will see the same idiots ruin our hobby.