Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

DIY Blu-Ray 803T

caleb

can someone help me build a blu-ray laser with the 803T GB diode.

what current do i need? what is the most appropriate driver (i think it is HighTechDeals that has Lavadrives for $6)

how many mW will i get?

what is the min voltage? i was hoping to run it off 3V using a leadlight for a host.

i have a dx module but i may use that for a red burner, should i get a Aixis... is it much beter

and, i have no experience, i may build a red burner before trying this but i am buying the blu-ray diode atm...

thanks in advance...

spensa

caleb said:
what current do i need? what is the most appropriate driver (i think it is HighTechDeals that has Lavadrives for $6)

how many mW will i get?

This dependeds on you, do you want longevity or power?
This depends on the current you choose
flex drive for $6? link?

caleb said:
what is the min voltage? i was hoping to run it off 3V using a leadlight for a host.

If using a flexdrive the minumum voltage is 2.5 volts so 3 volts is sufficient.

caleb said:
i have a dx module but i may use that for a red burner, should i get a Aixis... is it much beter

and, i have no experience, i may build a red burner before trying this but i am buying the blu-ray diode atm...

thanks in advance...
if its sku.5914 the you should be fine

jayrob

caleb said:
can someone help me build a blu-ray laser with the 803T GB diode.

how many mW will i get?

thanks in advance...

A Leadlight is a very tight fit. Not a first build host! But if you are careful, you will succeed. The FlexDrive will need to be trimmed. It will also need to be insulated from touching the leadlight case. I just used a little piece of black electrical tape on the edges of the FlexDrive: