Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Disco laser for school

Hi, I am a newbie ... So I apologise for my novice questions below :).

For the last couple of years I have assisted the local primary school to hold a disco every 3-4 months. We are located in a country town and activities are limited - thus the young kids aged 5-13 really love the disco when it comes around.

I use a number of effects and led lights including Yamaha mix board mg82cx, chauvet radius 2.0, chauvet cubix,optima ex556(co1) projector, RAVE af1214 smoke machine, cheapie $20 wall laser and a cheap Chinese unbranded moonflower light. We run 2 x 515xt JBL 500 series from a latop. School Hall is approximately 50m @ 30m.

Each disco we raise between $700-1000 which all goes back to the kids end of year school camp. No profit is made by me or anyone else, it is all done by a few local parents/volunteers for the kids benefit :)

Through the school we recently have received a grant for $1000 and I would like to invest that money into some form of the following. Coloured laser perhaps RGB that can be controlled both DMX and from a laptop. Not sure which is better for our purpose. Currently we run music from the laptop via windows media player to all the above lights and effects using auto sound activation where they sort of all flash to the beat. To elaborate, I have no DMX experience or laptop software experience/knowledge and we would like to incorporate one or both of these formats with a half decent laser into our school disco.