Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Cutting laser?

Hi all,

Newbie here. I'm researching what I need to make a laser cutter for acrylic. I already have a computer-controller XYZ machine, and want to add a laser diode to the head. Confused though due to conflicting info, so have some Q's...

Laser:
Will a 1W 808nm Laser diode cut 1/16" acrylic? What about 1/8" (which I may need to do occasionally). I don't want this to struggle, so if 1.5W or 2W is necessary, I will get that. So far, the big companies are saying that I need a gas laser for this, but in several other places I'm seeing that a diode laser would work. I really like the idea of an all enclosed flashlight-looking laser with the key switch, but can put the system together once I figure out the correct diode for the application

Power source:
Guess I can figure this out once the diode is selected.

Safety material:
Rather than just safety glasses (which I will get), I would feel much safer enclosing the machine, but would like to have at least 2 sides transparent/translucent. What material would I need for this? I'm assuming the same stuff that the glasses are made of, but is this easily available in sheets?

Thanks,
-Neil.

ARG

Safety material:
Rather than just safety glasses (which I will get), I would feel much safer enclosing the machine, but would like to have at least 2 sides transparent/translucent. What material would I need for this? I'm assuming the same stuff that the glasses are made of, but is this easily available in sheets?

Yes, I have seen the same material goggles is made out of in sheets in another thread, i'll try to find the website that sells them.

Last edited:

benmwv