Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Customs US

Well I have been ordering high powered lasers online for almost 2 years now, and I have never had a problem with customs. But my latest laser, a 30mw DX ultrafire got seized! I received an almost empty box, with the exception of a battery, and a little instruction pamphlet sent from DX.

I am going to be purchasing the 250mw laser from blazelasers.com to do a review from them, and was wondering about something.

If they send the laser in the box with no hint that it rates over 5mw, will customs take it out, and test the laser to see? Or will they just look at the box/manual for clues? Because my DX clearly said "30mw" on the box, and all over the pamphlet thing. So what i was wondering is if blazelasers send the laser completely marked down at 5mw, but its actually 250mw, will customs take it out, pop in the battery, and shine it at the wall or at a meter or something? Because if they press the on button, they will see that this thing clearly does not belong in hawaii.

Razako

When the box looks like this what do you expect? The blazelaser should be fine.
sku_7886_7.jpg

from a post i read over at PL, customs is now inspecting invoices and company names for the word "laser" so if it has that anywhere they are likely to get pulled now - my box i just got from WL (ordered some goggles) was from "Energy Technology Limited" containing "sunglasses" :p

Razako

All of my dx lasers come labeled as either "light Pens" "DIY PARTS AND TOOLS" or "LED KEYCHAIN LIGHTS" My wicked Pulsar came labeled as a "ball pen" lol ;D

It really annoys me. Doesn't customs have more important things to crack down on?

Ahh so if it gets pulled, will they whip out a power meter and test it? Or will they just look at the packaging?