Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Converting momentary switch to an on/off one....?

DanBee

Hello all,

newbie here, so go easy on me please!

I have just very recently invested in one of these puppies from DX:
sku_1103_1.jpg

Very impressed with the beam and power of it, and am being super careful with not looking into the beam and or pointing it at anyone or any animals.

However, as a newbie to the world of laser pointers, I did not realise that you had to keep your finger on the switch to keep it on, I was expecting an on/off switch.

I have since learned that the switch installed I believe is called a momentary switch (?) and if this is correct, I would dearly like to know what I can do to convert it into an on/off switch.

ie do I need to replace the existing switch, or is there another way I can modify the existing setup?

I'm aware there is a risk of breakage when trying to dissasemble it, but as it is only £5, I'm willing to have a go.

I have not soldered for sometime, but could buy one and have a go if someone can give me some pointers, if that is the way to achieve what I'm after,

Many thanks

Dan

sinner

You cannot change the tiny switch by yourself, as you will need someone to do it for you if anybdy im quite sure will be generous enf to help you out..
the on/off switch (Or clicky switches) are much bigger in size i think that would be a main problem.. or you can just override the momentary switch and drill a hole in the back and put a tiny clicky in there.. there is a lot to try but you can also mess up the complete laser i mean there are pretty good chances to something to go wrong.. In that case stick to the first advice ;)

DanBee

Many thanks for your reply Sinner,