Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

combining knife edging with DPSS?

The 5W 808nm diodes seem to be in the $100 range, the 10W ones in the $200 range.
If one was to combine the beams of several of these with a knife edge setup then run only the final (corrected with a beam expander) beam through crystals to get 532nm green beam or other visible wavelengths, wouldn't that be a far more cost effective way to get super bright beams?
I'll admit I'm still learning about DPSS but the only difficulty I see is better temperature control required and <50% power loss. That's still crazy power from 4 such diodes.
But if it was a no brainer, everybody wouldn't be using visible diodes for their knife edge setup.
What am I missing?

Gadget

For one, crystals taking that kind of power input would need some serious active cooling.

-G

Yeah, that would get hot pretty quick. Also after you get 532nm light, how do you plan on combining the beams?

Im not exactly sure what knife edging looks like but would it be as follows?
808nm~~~~~|1064nm~~~~~|532nm~~~~~

I mean im sure this is possible if you set your mind to it, but realize there are many challenges which stand in your way.

-Alex

Last edited:
Not really what I meant.
If one was to combine the beams of several of these with a knife edge setup then run only the final (corrected with a beam expander) beam through crystals to get 532nm green beam

I mean combine several 808nm beams with knife edging and beam expander together, then do the 808->1064->532 crystal magic on the final combined beam only.
And the question is not only if it's possible, but whether is makes sense for cost-saving. I don't know of a commercial DPSS module which does this, but then again I don't know the internals of most commercial modules above 1W.

Xb6eFdR.jpg