Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Building a 150-200 mW?

Hi all,

I'm new to lasers above 5mW and building lasers, but I'd like to get my hands on a more powerful 532nm laser. I've been reading around the forums for a few days now, and was thinking of buying a laser at first, but I can't find the specs I want for the price I want.

I'd like a stable beam with less than 1.2 mRAD divergence in a decent host (RPL) with good heatsinking, ideally for under $300. Id' also like it to be IR filtered if possible.

I looked at these:
Optotronics Green Pen Pointers
Premium +150mW Green Laser Pointer
Price: US $196.00

Laser Pointers - Green Laser Pointer by SKYlasers
150 mW Green Laser Pointer
Special Price: $299.99

Also liked the sound of the Nova Alpha, but it's a bit over budget!

Can anyone help me decide weather to buy or build? Would it be fairly easy to build a laser with the specs I'm looking for, or should I just bite the bullet and buy a ready built laser?

ZRTMWA

Since no one else is answering I'll take a shot, from one noob to another. I've heard many good things about the Opto Premium +150mW Green Laser Pointer. SKYlasers seems way overpriced. Most of the time with green lasers it is cheaper to buy but you can try buying through the forums in the Buy, Sell, Trade Section. With Red and Blu Ray most of the time it is cheaper to build, at least on higher power builds if you get a 6x diode from a DVD Burner (Blu Ray) sled and a driver, host ect.. So Bite the Bullet.

Thanks for the reply and advice ZRTMWA.

I'm also starting to thing it may be better to bite!