Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Battery advice

I am fairly new at this and need some advice on batteries. I am purchasing an 18650 and Pocket Mini host from jayrob and I'm not sure what batteries to buy. I will be putting a 445nm diode in the 18650 host and a PHR or 6x 405 in the Pocket Mini.

I see the 18650 host can take a single 18650 battery or two cr123a batteries, and the Pocket Mini takes either a cr123a or rcr123a.... since I don't have either of these I'm going to need to purchase some. Would using two cr123a's work just as well as one 18650 in the 18650 host so i don't have to buy two different battery sets and chargers for them?

What is the difference between cr123a and rcr123a batteries? If it would be acceptable in the 18650 host to use two cr123a batteries... would it also be fine to use two rcr123a batteries?

I've read in the forums that the AW brand is one of the best to get. I was looking at lighthound.com to buy them... unless you know of a better place. What charger could you recommend for the cr123a, rcr123a and 18650 batteries?

Do you know if there is a charger that can charge both (or all three) of these batteries in the same unit?

Any suggestions/advice would be greatly appreciated. Sorry if this info is elsewhere on the forums... I looked and couldn't see exactly what I was looking for.

rcr123A is just a rechargeable cr123A. as for the 18650 or cr123A, it depends on the voltage that you need

Thanks hugo, I wasn't sure on the cr123a and rcr123a difference, because I saw chargers that said one or the other. I think I know what I'm going to buy now! Thanks again!

extelon;

The #18650 is the most developed and utilized battery of all the lithium ion types.

It has more capacity than any 2 RCR123 batteries.