Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Are powerful lasers illegal?

As my name suggests, i am a total noob on lasers. I recently read some things on powerful green lasers that suggests they are illegal(?). I was wondering if this was true or if it just a noob fear?

Freyth

Powerful lasers are generally illegal but it really depends on where you reside. In the US, I think anything above 5mW is illegal if it does not have the necessary safety features implemented, or not FDA approved.

But don't worry, some moron will probably shine his laser up at the plane and make lasers illegal worldwide.

from what i've heard, while in many countries there is a limit (like 5mW for US, 1mW for UK/Australia - though apparently UK retailers often ignore that and sell <5mW pointers with no hassle), the police generally do not care if you're not being unsafe with it, ie not shining it at planes/cars/people etc. to be safe, you could just keep it in your house at all times. but you're not gonna get 30 government agents bursting through your door, sniper rifles pointed at you, and yelled to get on the floor and tell them where the illegal lasers are :)

Powerful lasers are not illegal in the United States. However, you must understand that each locality may have it's own laws regarding laser systems. Contact your local police department and ask. In the world of information you may have access to local laws online and you can research from your home. When I was a kid I had to meet with an Air Force Major in Environmental Health because I lived on an Air Force Base as my father was in the military. I wanted to build a ruby laser. The request was denied by the Air Force because they were not to keen to me having a Class IV laser with B-52 bombers flying around loaded with nuclear weapons.