Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

About home lasers

lugnut

Hello there!

I am very new in the field in lasers, and have vary little knowledge of them, and I would like some help.
I am working on (paper) project, in which I will need a laser that a focus in the region of 1/10mm to 1/100mm,
and has an instant heat of 240-260 degrees Celsius. (Melting point of polystyrene)
it also needs to be small and light.

I have read that some are using lasers from DVD burners, and "tuning" them to desired specs. Is that something that I can/ should do ?
Or if not, then what ?
At this point, I am not so concerned if it is a DIY job, or an off the shelf laser, both are fine.

lugnut

Thank you!
Maybe latter I will, but right now, I am trying to figure out how "popular" the lasers are, and what the price range is.

"IF this was in production, how much would it cost..." - is my thinking. :)

lugnut

Oh, its not foam, its a powder.
The project is about a rapid prototyping machine.
The actual element that "makes" the prototype, is a laser that melts the plastic powder, and thereby bonds it together to create the item.

lugnut said:
Oh, its not foam, its a powder.
The project is about a rapid prototyping machine.
The actual element that "makes" the prototype, is a laser that melts the plastic powder, and thereby bonds it together to create the item.
Oh... Now i see.

lugnut

So, can you help me then ? :)

can the homemade lasers be small enough to project onto a 1/100mm ?
can they be made to burn at 240 degrees Celsius ?
Price ?