Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

a lot of questions to ask about m140(DTR pls come in)

First,im a newbie and i would like to build a high power 445nm laser!
the video i reffered is at here(im not going to follow exactly what the guy done in the video) :
How to build a cheap 1000mW+ blue laser - YouTube
the doide im going to buy is at here (im buying the $64 version) :
https://sites.google.com/site/dtrlpf/home/diodes/445-m140-didoes

right now i've almost buy all of the parts and they're on the way now,expect safety goggle and laser diode,these two are the most expensive one and i 'll only buy them after i get answer from this post!
parts i buy and their urls:
heat sink :
Heat Sink Heatsink Cooling Mount Holder for 12mm laser modules
the heat sink i buy was not at there anymore,but it's a heat sink for 12mm module ,juz around like this

driver :
18V 5W Cree Circuit Board for Flashlights (16.8mm*5.5mm) - Free Shipping - DealExtreme

and also,im going to build a driver myself,im following athe video from here :
DIY: How to build a laser diode driver - YouTube

i've think about laser safety too,im planning to buy an eagle pair for myself :
Eagle Pair® 190-540nm & 800-2000nm Laser Safety Goggles
or
http://laserpointerforums.com/f44/cheap-safety-glasses-70627.html
the uvex goggle in this thread was cheap,and one of the user has tested it and proved it can block 445nm! does this goggle can be trusted?if can i'd rather buy this goggle as it's far more cheaper than eagle pair!

So as newbie,im making this post to ask questions:
for this laser,i think i won't have a host for it,as the heat sink is too big!so i may just stick all parts on the heatsink,just like the guy do in the video.

First,is about safety: