Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

803T Sled and more.

Hello guys. I'm currently making a blue laser pointer according to styropyro's guide seen here: watch?v=DVugSGldXZ8 I don't think I can paste links yet, so that's youtube right there.

I'm pretty new to laser pointer construction, and electronics (hardware) in general, so please try not to be too annoyed by some of the "noobish" questions I may have.

First up, I purchased my sled, just waiting for it to arrive, but I am having trouble understanding one step in the video, maybe it will become clear to me when I see the diode, but I might as well ask now.

At 2:00 - 2:11 in this video, it talks about putting a blob of solder on your soldering gun, and then applying it to the pins on the diode, I perfectly understand this, but then it says "...pull on the little piece of circuit board with your needle nose pliers..." my question is why would I need solder if I am removing something? Isn't solder for connecting electrical circuits? (Keep in mind, I am quite new to this stuff, so I will try to keep silly questions like these to myself if I can figure it out on my own.)

Two more questions:

Secondly, since the site for the driver in his video info is down (and even after I get re-directed to the new site, it seems that the driver is out of stock), what driver would you recommend for this project? (Specific links/product IDs would be godly).

Lastly, I wanted to make this portable enough to keep in a pocket like a pen. I know that it would take more batteries than can fit in a pen, so I ask for a better casing for the module, the 9v battery, and the driver.