Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

800 mw red pointer

Hi all,

I am in Bangkok and bought two 800 mw red pointers. Since I am new to this technology I have no Idea if it is really 800 mw or not.

This is my plan : I have a 5mw green laser mounted on my rifle for hunting in wooden areas. I thought I could replace the diode and driver in that unit with one of the red ones I bought in Thaïland.

The red ones I bought are very bright and have a focusing ring on them. They burn black material ( like black bags or foam packing ). I have not worn glasses to try but I am very carefull not to look at the beam or the reflection.

Sorry for the poor english, I am french.

Do you think this could work ?

Hi all,

I am in Bangkok and bought two 800 mw red pointers. Since I am new to this technology I have no Idea if it is really 800 mw or not.

This is my plan : I have a 5mw green laser mounted on my rifle for hunting in wooden areas. I thought I could replace the diode and driver in that unit with one of the red ones I bought in Thaïland.

The red ones I bought are very bright and have a focusing ring on them. They burn black material ( like black bags or foam packing ). I have not worn glasses to try but I am very carefull not to look at the beam or the reflection.

Sorry for the poor english, I am french.

Do you think this could work ?

How much did you pay? If they are really +/- 800mW, they would have cost you more than 400$ each...

Last edited:
300px-Paris_Tuileries_Garden_Facepalm_statue.jpg

Ok, I guess they cannot be 800 mw, but they are for sure alot more powerful than my 5 mw green laser.

Ok, I guess they cannot be 800 mw, but they are for sure alot more powerful than my 5 mw green laser.