Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

650nm diode driver? Need help!

Blord

It depends on the battery source what kind of a driver you need. One or two 3.7V li-ion battery or 12V adapter ?

sinner

since you are going to power it using two AA's i guess, for a lpc-815 3V source would not be sufficient. Go for 2x Lithium-ions 3.7V 16340 CR123A Rechargeable. and a linear driver!

Thanks a ton for the informative responses! I was planning on powering this diode with 4 AA's running through the driver. I am following a YouTube video tutorial embarrassingly enough and it said that 4 AA's would push 200 + watts out of the diode...is that accurate? I'm brand new to DIY lasers, and I don't know the difference between a "linear" and a "3V" driver. Does anyone suggest that I change my battery source? Regardless, I would still love a link to purchase a driver (and battery if needed) that would power this diode. Thanks.

GhostChrome's are pretty awesome. They're really really small! I'd recommend those. Especially price wise.

sinner

Thanks a ton for the informative responses! I was planning on powering this diode with 4 AA's running through the driver. I am following a YouTube video tutorial embarrassingly enough and it said that 4 AA's would push 200 + watts out of the diode...is that accurate? I'm brand new to DIY lasers, and I don't know the difference between a "linear" and a "3V" driver. Does anyone suggest that I change my battery source? Regardless, I would still love a link to purchase a driver (and battery if needed) that would power this diode. Thanks.

Running a laser with 4AA's and LM317 would not be efficient ,but it is possible, yes!
Linear voltage regulators we use here for laser diodes are quite simple and need very few components in order to drive a laser diode.