Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

445nm >FIRST BUILD<

Mega-noob to lasers, but im eager to learn :)

My plan is to build a portable multi-laser.... thing.

It will utilise 3 - 12 diodes and a moving parabolic mirror to change the focus. Much like a reflective telescope, but, well, backwards.

I have been advised against the cheap 808nm 300mW diodes on ebay due to the fact they are not visible and too powerful for a first build.

Instead, i am looking towards 445nm diodes for a build with possibly a car battery for power?

I am new to this, and YES i have read countless FAQ's and tutorials. The main issue i have i would think is just parts.

Where can i get cheap 445nm's and drivers? How many drivers do i need? Can one driver power multiple diodes? How can i calculate the power of my laser and the power it needs?

Thanks in advance

tbw

choi

Wow. Let me be the first to welcome you to the forum!!
I'm new too, never build a laser but probably read a lot more than you.
Planning on building a white laser but need more time and money for now.
I don't know what you mean about the telescope thingy.
You need laser goggles before you even power up your laser diode!
You don't need a car battery for power that's just ridiculous.
You need a different driver for every laser.
I don't think you'll be able to calculate the power of your diode, you need specialized things for that. The power it needs that's easy just do more reading.
I suggest you do something more simple and don't forget the laser glasses that's important.

car battery portable laser...

12 diodes ?

are you going to make a laser pointer the size of a big telescope ?

sorry but i can't give a normal answer to this :)