Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

1+ Watt, Non-aixiz housing, and 405-G-2 lens

Hello guys I'm kinda new to LPF and had a few questions on the build I am doing. I know my first mistake is buying my diode, enclosure and lens off the bay (i swear i will buy off LPF next time).

- I am using one of those 445nm 1+ Watt diodes taken out of a DLP projector.

- As far as housing goes, I am using this housing that I found on ebay (pic below). The reason I picked this housing over the aixiz housing is because of the metal threads on the focus adjust. I had problems with that before on the aixiz w/ their plastic threading (i did not use Teflon tape, but the threads where starting to wear from constant use). Also I picked this one because of the 405-G-2 lens, I had read on LPF that the 405-G-1 lens will have a better power output then the glass aixiz lenses, so I assumed the same w/ the G-2.
scaled.php

- To drive it i was planning on using a TI switching regulator due to it's high 90% percent efficiency. To power I am going to use 4 X 18650 Lithium Li-ion 3.7V 2400mAh Rechargeable. I think the "2400mAh" is probably over rated but even if these things give me 750mAh i will be fine. I would be combining 2 sets of 2 to get each set at 7.4 Volts and run the sets in parallel.

I would like any suggestions on my build you can offer, other then that I only have a few questions.

- I am semi concerned about the power output of the batteries. Using this chart I found made for this diode i calculated at max power i would be using about 5.78 watts of power (this includes 10% energy loss from driver).
scaled.php

Split between 2 sets of 2 batteries 2.88 watts for each set running at 7.4V (2 in series). Would the 18650s be able to pull that much current?