Old 11-08-2010, 07:10 PM #1
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 365
Rep Power: 0
Braddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to behold
Braddubya Braddubya is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 365
Rep Power: 0
Braddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to behold
Default Flexdrive Pot at Max Current

as I was assembling my latest laser I noticed the pot turn while I was holding it. Long story short the laser is fully assembled and I dont want to rip it apart if I dont have to to try and get it set correctly again. I want it set to its max current output of 1500mA. If I turn the pot clockwise until it stops (if it stops) will this ensure max output? or could I even just short out the pot since im running max output and so I dont have to worry about this in the future?


Braddubya is offline   Reply With Quote


















Old 11-08-2010, 07:53 PM #2
DTR's Avatar
DTR DTR is online now
Class 4 Laser
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 5,492
Rep Power: 102942
DTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond repute
DTR DTR is online now
Class 4 Laser
DTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 5,492
Rep Power: 102942
DTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Flexdrive Pot at Max Current

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braddubya View Post
as I was assembling my latest laser I noticed the pot turn while I was holding it. Long story short the laser is fully assembled and I dont want to rip it apart if I dont have to to try and get it set correctly again. I want it set to its max current output of 1500mA. If I turn the pot clockwise until it stops (if it stops) will this ensure max output? or could I even just short out the pot since im running max output and so I dont have to worry about this in the future?
The pot does not stop. It will just go in endless loops. If you had it set to 1.5A and then try to turn it up it will start back over around 500-600mA. There are some methods of setting it without taking the diode off but testing it with a test load is the best way and the only recommended way.
DTR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 08:54 PM #3
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 365
Rep Power: 0
Braddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to behold
Braddubya Braddubya is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 365
Rep Power: 0
Braddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to beholdBraddubya is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Flexdrive Pot at Max Current

Can I just bypass the pot with a jumper since I want max current anyways?
Braddubya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 09:02 PM #4
DTR's Avatar
DTR DTR is online now
Class 4 Laser
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 5,492
Rep Power: 102942
DTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond repute
DTR DTR is online now
Class 4 Laser
DTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 5,492
Rep Power: 102942
DTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond reputeDTR has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Flexdrive Pot at Max Current

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braddubya View Post
Can I just bypass the pot with a jumper since I want max current anyways?
That would be a question for drlava. You could PM him and ask

Last edited by DTR; 11-08-2010 at 09:05 PM.
DTR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 09:06 PM #5
drlava's Avatar
Class 3R Laser
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,152
Rep Power: 5093
drlava has a reputation beyond reputedrlava has a reputation beyond reputedrlava has a reputation beyond reputedrlava has a reputation beyond reputedrlava has a reputation beyond reputedrlava has a reputation beyond reputedrlava has a reputation beyond reputedrlava has a reputation beyond reputedrlava has a reputation beyond reputedrlava has a reputation beyond reputedrlava has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to drlava
drlava drlava is offline
Class 3R Laser
drlava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,152
Rep Power: 5093
drlava has a reputation beyond reputedrlava has a reputation beyond reputedrlava has a reputation beyond reputedrlava has a reputation beyond reputedrlava has a reputation beyond reputedrlava has a reputation beyond reputedrlava has a reputation beyond reputedrlava has a reputation beyond reputedrlava has a reputation beyond reputedrlava has a reputation beyond reputedrlava has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to drlava
Default Re: Flexdrive Pot at Max Current

No, you can't bypass the potentiometer when the driver is at the max range. The best thing you can do is just take it off (at least the + diode leg) and re-set with a dummy load, place a dab of hotglue to keep it if you're afraid of bumping it again.
drlava is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

























Privacy Policy | Advertising Disclaimer | Terms of Use


 


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO
Privacy Policy | Advertising Disclaimer | Terms of Use
Copyright (C) 2017 Laser Pointer Forums, LLC