Old 11-21-2009, 06:47 PM #1
KGB_Productions's Avatar
Class 2M Laser
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 878
Rep Power: 233
KGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to KGB_Productions Send a message via MSN to KGB_Productions
KGB_Productions KGB_Productions is offline
Class 2M Laser
KGB_Productions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 878
Rep Power: 233
KGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to KGB_Productions Send a message via MSN to KGB_Productions
Default Need help with blocked ports!

So I just got a new IP camera (Axis 211) and set it up last night. Everything is working fine and I can see the camera in my local internet just fine using my internal AND EXternal IP's. I set up port forwarding for remote viewing over the internet and once I did that is when I could use the EXternal IP to connect to the cam.

So this morning I go to work and try and connect to the camera only to find out that my ISP has port 80 blocked so even though i can see it in my Local home network, when I leave that network I can no longer connect to my (external)IP address.

So my question to the computer gods is....How do I get around this blocked port




__________________
10W RGB DT40-Pro
2x 5W RGB DT40 Pro
2x 4W RGB DT40 WIDE
2x 1W Green DT40 Pro
QM.net
2x FB3
Pangolin LivePro
Pangolin Beyond
Pangolin QuickShow
*********
Lab Style Lasers
2x Kvant 1W 640nm-- 3x CNI 1.5W 532-- 5x Laserwave 1.5W 532-- 2x 1.3W 445nm-- 2x RB 2W
Pointers
750mw 445nm*160mw 405nm * 200mw DX Green ~ 15mw Pulsed Green * 200mw DX Red *

KGBLASERS.COM
KGB_Productions is offline   Reply With Quote


















Old 11-21-2009, 07:14 PM #2
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cupertino CA
Posts: 1,076
Rep Power: 0
Laser_Ben has a reputation beyond reputeLaser_Ben has a reputation beyond reputeLaser_Ben has a reputation beyond reputeLaser_Ben has a reputation beyond reputeLaser_Ben has a reputation beyond reputeLaser_Ben has a reputation beyond reputeLaser_Ben has a reputation beyond reputeLaser_Ben has a reputation beyond reputeLaser_Ben has a reputation beyond reputeLaser_Ben has a reputation beyond reputeLaser_Ben has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Laser_Ben
Laser_Ben Laser_Ben is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cupertino CA
Posts: 1,076
Rep Power: 0
Laser_Ben has a reputation beyond reputeLaser_Ben has a reputation beyond reputeLaser_Ben has a reputation beyond reputeLaser_Ben has a reputation beyond reputeLaser_Ben has a reputation beyond reputeLaser_Ben has a reputation beyond reputeLaser_Ben has a reputation beyond reputeLaser_Ben has a reputation beyond reputeLaser_Ben has a reputation beyond reputeLaser_Ben has a reputation beyond reputeLaser_Ben has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to Laser_Ben
Default Re: Need help with blocked ports!

Many ISPs block that port to prevent people from hosting websites or large servers.
Laser_Ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 07:23 PM #3
KGB_Productions's Avatar
Class 2M Laser
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 878
Rep Power: 233
KGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to KGB_Productions Send a message via MSN to KGB_Productions
KGB_Productions KGB_Productions is offline
Class 2M Laser
KGB_Productions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 878
Rep Power: 233
KGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to KGB_Productions Send a message via MSN to KGB_Productions
Default Re: Need help with blocked ports!

I figured that out already, I called them Before I posted this and got the list of blocked ports:
25
80
135-139
445
1433
1434
1900
__________________
10W RGB DT40-Pro
2x 5W RGB DT40 Pro
2x 4W RGB DT40 WIDE
2x 1W Green DT40 Pro
QM.net
2x FB3
Pangolin LivePro
Pangolin Beyond
Pangolin QuickShow
*********
Lab Style Lasers
2x Kvant 1W 640nm-- 3x CNI 1.5W 532-- 5x Laserwave 1.5W 532-- 2x 1.3W 445nm-- 2x RB 2W
Pointers
750mw 445nm*160mw 405nm * 200mw DX Green ~ 15mw Pulsed Green * 200mw DX Red *

KGBLASERS.COM
KGB_Productions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 07:59 PM #4
ndrew2505's Avatar
Class 3B Laser
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,824
Rep Power: 2044
ndrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond repute
ndrew2505 ndrew2505 is offline
Class 3B Laser
ndrew2505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,824
Rep Power: 2044
ndrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Need help with blocked ports!

have you tried using a different port?
ndrew2505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 08:30 PM #5
KGB_Productions's Avatar
Class 2M Laser
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 878
Rep Power: 233
KGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to KGB_Productions Send a message via MSN to KGB_Productions
KGB_Productions KGB_Productions is offline
Class 2M Laser
KGB_Productions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 878
Rep Power: 233
KGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to KGB_Productions Send a message via MSN to KGB_Productions
Default Re: Need help with blocked ports!

Thats another problem....Im trying to figure out how to change the port. I have been looking through the advanced options all day and cant find how to do it.
__________________
10W RGB DT40-Pro
2x 5W RGB DT40 Pro
2x 4W RGB DT40 WIDE
2x 1W Green DT40 Pro
QM.net
2x FB3
Pangolin LivePro
Pangolin Beyond
Pangolin QuickShow
*********
Lab Style Lasers
2x Kvant 1W 640nm-- 3x CNI 1.5W 532-- 5x Laserwave 1.5W 532-- 2x 1.3W 445nm-- 2x RB 2W
Pointers
750mw 445nm*160mw 405nm * 200mw DX Green ~ 15mw Pulsed Green * 200mw DX Red *

KGBLASERS.COM
KGB_Productions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 08:47 PM #6
KGB_Productions's Avatar
Class 2M Laser
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 878
Rep Power: 233
KGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to KGB_Productions Send a message via MSN to KGB_Productions
KGB_Productions KGB_Productions is offline
Class 2M Laser
KGB_Productions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 878
Rep Power: 233
KGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to KGB_Productions Send a message via MSN to KGB_Productions
Default Re: Need help with blocked ports!

So this is what I am looking at.....Everything looks fine to me. What am I doing wrong.


__________________
10W RGB DT40-Pro
2x 5W RGB DT40 Pro
2x 4W RGB DT40 WIDE
2x 1W Green DT40 Pro
QM.net
2x FB3
Pangolin LivePro
Pangolin Beyond
Pangolin QuickShow
*********
Lab Style Lasers
2x Kvant 1W 640nm-- 3x CNI 1.5W 532-- 5x Laserwave 1.5W 532-- 2x 1.3W 445nm-- 2x RB 2W
Pointers
750mw 445nm*160mw 405nm * 200mw DX Green ~ 15mw Pulsed Green * 200mw DX Red *

KGBLASERS.COM
KGB_Productions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 08:56 PM #7
charliebruce's Avatar
Class 3R Laser
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,550
Rep Power: 124
charliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to charliebruce
charliebruce charliebruce is offline
Class 3R Laser
charliebruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,550
Rep Power: 124
charliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to charliebruce
Default Re: Need help with blocked ports!

On your router's port forwarding/virtual server feature, you *may* be able to forward an external port (say, 8080) to port 80 on the internal network. If this isn't possible then you'll want to speak to your camera manufacturer's support staff. If they can't help then a custom firmware for your router may offer the port-changing feature, I think the project is known as OpenWRT.]

Edit: Yes, this is possible under OpenWRT, but unless there is an other way then it's a complex option. What model is your router?

Last edited by charliebruce; 11-21-2009 at 08:59 PM.
charliebruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 09:10 PM #8
KGB_Productions's Avatar
Class 2M Laser
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 878
Rep Power: 233
KGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to KGB_Productions Send a message via MSN to KGB_Productions
KGB_Productions KGB_Productions is offline
Class 2M Laser
KGB_Productions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 878
Rep Power: 233
KGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to KGB_Productions Send a message via MSN to KGB_Productions
Default Re: Need help with blocked ports!

WRT54G Firmware Version: v4.21.1



So confused over here
__________________
10W RGB DT40-Pro
2x 5W RGB DT40 Pro
2x 4W RGB DT40 WIDE
2x 1W Green DT40 Pro
QM.net
2x FB3
Pangolin LivePro
Pangolin Beyond
Pangolin QuickShow
*********
Lab Style Lasers
2x Kvant 1W 640nm-- 3x CNI 1.5W 532-- 5x Laserwave 1.5W 532-- 2x 1.3W 445nm-- 2x RB 2W
Pointers
750mw 445nm*160mw 405nm * 200mw DX Green ~ 15mw Pulsed Green * 200mw DX Red *

KGBLASERS.COM
KGB_Productions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 09:40 PM #9
charliebruce's Avatar
Class 3R Laser
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,550
Rep Power: 124
charliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to charliebruce
charliebruce charliebruce is offline
Class 3R Laser
charliebruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,550
Rep Power: 124
charliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond reputecharliebruce has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to charliebruce
Default Re: Need help with blocked ports!

I know on my Belkin routers it is possible to forward an external port (say 8080) to a different internal port number (say 80). If you can do this in your router, then you can access the camera by http://YourExternalIP:8080/

I know that the "custom" firmware for routers, known as OpenWRT supports this kind of forwarding. If you are comfortable with the technical side, including linux shells and flashing files via networking, then you can install OpenWRT onto your router, and thus gain that functionality, if it isn't offered with the router's default firmware.

If you aren't comfortable with doing this, then your only other options are asking Axis' tech support about changing the port number that the camera is listening on, or demand that your ISP unblock the ports. I suspect that there's not much the ISP can do, however, all that most do is re-sell another company's system.
charliebruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 09:57 PM #10
ndrew2505's Avatar
Class 3B Laser
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,824
Rep Power: 2044
ndrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond repute
ndrew2505 ndrew2505 is offline
Class 3B Laser
ndrew2505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,824
Rep Power: 2044
ndrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Need help with blocked ports!

ive never used openwrt but i have dd-wrt on both of my linksys routers... the custome firmware may be the way to go though if the manufacturer cant help.
ndrew2505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 11:00 PM #11
KGB_Productions's Avatar
Class 2M Laser
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 878
Rep Power: 233
KGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to KGB_Productions Send a message via MSN to KGB_Productions
KGB_Productions KGB_Productions is offline
Class 2M Laser
KGB_Productions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 878
Rep Power: 233
KGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond reputeKGB_Productions has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to KGB_Productions Send a message via MSN to KGB_Productions
Default Re: Need help with blocked ports!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ndrew2505 View Post
ive never used openwrt but i have dd-wrt on both of my linksys routers... the custome firmware may be the way to go though if the manufacturer cant help.

How hard is that to use? It may be my only choice.
__________________
10W RGB DT40-Pro
2x 5W RGB DT40 Pro
2x 4W RGB DT40 WIDE
2x 1W Green DT40 Pro
QM.net
2x FB3
Pangolin LivePro
Pangolin Beyond
Pangolin QuickShow
*********
Lab Style Lasers
2x Kvant 1W 640nm-- 3x CNI 1.5W 532-- 5x Laserwave 1.5W 532-- 2x 1.3W 445nm-- 2x RB 2W
Pointers
750mw 445nm*160mw 405nm * 200mw DX Green ~ 15mw Pulsed Green * 200mw DX Red *

KGBLASERS.COM
KGB_Productions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 12:31 AM #12
ndrew2505's Avatar
Class 3B Laser
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,824
Rep Power: 2044
ndrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond repute
ndrew2505 ndrew2505 is offline
Class 3B Laser
ndrew2505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,824
Rep Power: 2044
ndrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond reputendrew2505 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Need help with blocked ports!

Quote:
Originally Posted by KGB_Productions View Post
How hard is that to use? It may be my only choice.
its kind of like your stock firmware for a router but it has a lot more options and gives you better control over your router. for dd-wrt you can check if your router is compatible here:

Supported Devices - DD-WRT Wiki

check with the cam manufacturer first and see if they can explain a little since it is their software your trying to configure.
ndrew2505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



























Privacy Policy | Advertising Disclaimer | Terms of Use


 


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO
Privacy Policy | Advertising Disclaimer | Terms of Use
Copyright (C) 2017 Laser Pointer Forums, LLC