Old 08-04-2010, 04:41 PM #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 31
Rep Power: 0
tylerlong is on a distinguished road
tylerlong tylerlong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 31
Rep Power: 0
tylerlong is on a distinguished road
Default HP help...

okay i got a HP Pavilion Slimline s3400f Desktop that was broken and im trying to fix it.
this one HP Pavilion Slimline s3400f Desktop PC Product Specifications HP Pavilion Slimline s3400f Desktop PC - HP Customer Care (United States - English)

When i turn it on it has one short beep and one long beep.
here it say that means its a memory problem.
BIOS Beep Codes HP Pavilion Slimline s3400f Desktop PC - HP Customer Care (Australia - English)

so do i replace the ram?
if anyone can help me i would be really happy.
thanks


oh also when i turn it on nothing shows up on the display.


tylerlong is offline   Reply With Quote


















Old 08-04-2010, 05:46 PM #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 31
Rep Power: 0
tylerlong is on a distinguished road
tylerlong tylerlong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 31
Rep Power: 0
tylerlong is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HP help...

okay so i took everything out of it and tried it..
still beeped
i took ou the processor and it stopped.
but then i put it back in and it started again.
tylerlong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 09:07 PM #3
rpaloalto's Avatar
Class 3R Laser
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 1,257
Rep Power: 129
rpaloalto has a reputation beyond reputerpaloalto has a reputation beyond reputerpaloalto has a reputation beyond reputerpaloalto has a reputation beyond reputerpaloalto has a reputation beyond reputerpaloalto has a reputation beyond reputerpaloalto has a reputation beyond reputerpaloalto has a reputation beyond reputerpaloalto has a reputation beyond reputerpaloalto has a reputation beyond reputerpaloalto has a reputation beyond repute
rpaloalto rpaloalto is offline
Class 3R Laser
rpaloalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 1,257
Rep Power: 129
rpaloalto has a reputation beyond reputerpaloalto has a reputation beyond reputerpaloalto has a reputation beyond reputerpaloalto has a reputation beyond reputerpaloalto has a reputation beyond reputerpaloalto has a reputation beyond reputerpaloalto has a reputation beyond reputerpaloalto has a reputation beyond reputerpaloalto has a reputation beyond reputerpaloalto has a reputation beyond reputerpaloalto has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: HP help...

Well the manual does say one short beep, followed by one long, is a memory problem.
How many memory modules do you have? if you have 2 you can take one out and try them separately, one by one.
You can try and find someone who has the same kind of ram. See if they will let you try there's?
__________________
Read The Forum Rules
Follow The Forum Rules
Be Kind To Your Fellow LPF Brothers
-----------------------------------------------------
Builds, Hosts and Optics from Flaminpyro,
Ehgemus, RA_pierce, jayrob,
LarryDFW and Me
rpaloalto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 10:25 PM #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 31
Rep Power: 0
tylerlong is on a distinguished road
tylerlong tylerlong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 31
Rep Power: 0
tylerlong is on a distinguished road
Default Re: HP help...

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpaloalto View Post
Well the manual does say one short beep, followed by one long, is a memory problem.
How many memory modules do you have? if you have 2 you can take one out and try them separately, one by one.
You can try and find someone who has the same kind of ram. See if they will let you try there's?
it does say that.
and i tried everything you said and nothing.
also i took out the processor and it didnt beep
but it migh have just been an open circuit... not sure
thanks for the help so far.
tylerlong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 11:34 AM #5
goninanbl00d's Avatar
Class 2M Laser
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sydney, AU
Posts: 892
Rep Power: 97
goninanbl00d has a reputation beyond reputegoninanbl00d has a reputation beyond reputegoninanbl00d has a reputation beyond reputegoninanbl00d has a reputation beyond reputegoninanbl00d has a reputation beyond reputegoninanbl00d has a reputation beyond reputegoninanbl00d has a reputation beyond reputegoninanbl00d has a reputation beyond reputegoninanbl00d has a reputation beyond reputegoninanbl00d has a reputation beyond reputegoninanbl00d has a reputation beyond repute
goninanbl00d goninanbl00d is offline
Class 2M Laser
goninanbl00d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sydney, AU
Posts: 892
Rep Power: 97
goninanbl00d has a reputation beyond reputegoninanbl00d has a reputation beyond reputegoninanbl00d has a reputation beyond reputegoninanbl00d has a reputation beyond reputegoninanbl00d has a reputation beyond reputegoninanbl00d has a reputation beyond reputegoninanbl00d has a reputation beyond reputegoninanbl00d has a reputation beyond reputegoninanbl00d has a reputation beyond reputegoninanbl00d has a reputation beyond reputegoninanbl00d has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: HP help...

It won't beep without a CPU- it can't.

Chances are the memory or the socket is dead. Have you tried inserting your stick of RAM into the second memory slot?
goninanbl00d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 06:39 PM #6
BShanahan14rulz's Avatar
Class 3B Laser
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3,175
Rep Power: 3651
BShanahan14rulz has a reputation beyond reputeBShanahan14rulz has a reputation beyond reputeBShanahan14rulz has a reputation beyond reputeBShanahan14rulz has a reputation beyond reputeBShanahan14rulz has a reputation beyond reputeBShanahan14rulz has a reputation beyond reputeBShanahan14rulz has a reputation beyond reputeBShanahan14rulz has a reputation beyond reputeBShanahan14rulz has a reputation beyond reputeBShanahan14rulz has a reputation beyond reputeBShanahan14rulz has a reputation beyond repute
BShanahan14rulz BShanahan14rulz is offline
Class 3B Laser
BShanahan14rulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3,175
Rep Power: 3651
BShanahan14rulz has a reputation beyond reputeBShanahan14rulz has a reputation beyond reputeBShanahan14rulz has a reputation beyond reputeBShanahan14rulz has a reputation beyond reputeBShanahan14rulz has a reputation beyond reputeBShanahan14rulz has a reputation beyond reputeBShanahan14rulz has a reputation beyond reputeBShanahan14rulz has a reputation beyond reputeBShanahan14rulz has a reputation beyond reputeBShanahan14rulz has a reputation beyond reputeBShanahan14rulz has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: HP help...

replace ram with a known working dimm. just a single, to keep it simple
BShanahan14rulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 08:25 AM #7
Jorad's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Right behind you 0_o
Posts: 34
Rep Power: 0
Jorad is just really niceJorad is just really niceJorad is just really niceJorad is just really nice
Jorad Jorad is offline
Member
Jorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Right behind you 0_o
Posts: 34
Rep Power: 0
Jorad is just really niceJorad is just really niceJorad is just really niceJorad is just really nice
Default Re: HP help...

if you have several sticks of ram try one at a time... if one works then that one is fine... if not then try the next.... don't take the cpu out again... 99.99% of the time its not the CPU... if none of them work try a different slot... if that doesn't work try one that works on another computer and if that doesn't work don't ever buy an HP again and learn from your mistake.
Jorad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 01:28 PM #8
Kookapeli's Avatar
Class 3R Laser
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 1,254
Rep Power: 61
Kookapeli has a reputation beyond reputeKookapeli has a reputation beyond reputeKookapeli has a reputation beyond reputeKookapeli has a reputation beyond reputeKookapeli has a reputation beyond reputeKookapeli has a reputation beyond reputeKookapeli has a reputation beyond reputeKookapeli has a reputation beyond reputeKookapeli has a reputation beyond reputeKookapeli has a reputation beyond reputeKookapeli has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to Kookapeli
Kookapeli Kookapeli is offline
Class 3R Laser
Kookapeli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 1,254
Rep Power: 61
Kookapeli has a reputation beyond reputeKookapeli has a reputation beyond reputeKookapeli has a reputation beyond reputeKookapeli has a reputation beyond reputeKookapeli has a reputation beyond reputeKookapeli has a reputation beyond reputeKookapeli has a reputation beyond reputeKookapeli has a reputation beyond reputeKookapeli has a reputation beyond reputeKookapeli has a reputation beyond reputeKookapeli has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to Kookapeli
Default Re: HP help...

It's all a process of elimination, just do what the guys above said, take a good known DIMM from another unit and test in both slots, then take your DIMMS and try them in another P.C if your DIMMS work in your friends P.C then your MB could be dead
__________________
Never Gets tired of popping baloons, lighting matches and burning thru black plastics bags

Lasers Owned


100mW Rayfoss 532nm
5 mW WL Core 532nm
~130mW Mini Pocket 650
~300mW Cree Q5
~500mW Trustfire TR-801 638
~1.2W Cree Q5 445nm
New LPF'ers Please Read THIS
Where to buy laser components/kits from
I Want to build a Laser
Kookapeli is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

























Privacy Policy | Advertising Disclaimer | Terms of Use


 


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO
Privacy Policy | Advertising Disclaimer | Terms of Use
Copyright (C) 2017 Laser Pointer Forums, LLC