Old 02-04-2009, 04:02 PM #1
lamborgini8's Avatar
Class 3R Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,521
Rep Power: 110
lamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to lamborgini8
lamborgini8 lamborgini8 is offline
Class 3R Laser
lamborgini8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,521
Rep Power: 110
lamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to lamborgini8
Default Whos Used SBS Company Web?

Right before I go totally insane and shove the keyboard through the screen has anyone here used a rediculously rubbishly designed bit of software called Small Business Server Company Web from Microsoft? All I want is to get the damn thing to work as an intranet which is what it was designed for... It works on the server itself and my computer for god knows what reason but it refuses to work what so ever on everyone elses computer that has identical settings.

It loads up and is fine for me but for everyone else I get the good old page cannot be displayed, yet if I go to the server IP on the computers it comes up with a sort of portal page with a bit of info but as soon as I click the link to company web it seams to go poof into microsofts ass and laughs.

You can probally tell but this is really doing my head in, the site is all set up how its needed and its PERFECT yet because its microsoft its totally blind for no aparent reason. Google don't help much either, and the fact someone went on a mouse clicking frenzy and blocked hundreds of sites including a load of help forums and for some rediculous reason google images I cant even get much out of any searches at all.


__________________
DL - Viper 75mW - Green (532nm)
DL - 50mW Module - Green (532nm)
DIY - 50mW - 12k Scanner - Green (532nm)
DeviantArt - Ian Salter
lamborgini8 is offline   Reply With Quote


















Old 02-04-2009, 05:37 PM #2
Class 1 Laser
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 64
Rep Power: 17
cexshun is a splendid one to beholdcexshun is a splendid one to beholdcexshun is a splendid one to beholdcexshun is a splendid one to beholdcexshun is a splendid one to beholdcexshun is a splendid one to beholdcexshun is a splendid one to behold
cexshun cexshun is offline
Class 1 Laser
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 64
Rep Power: 17
cexshun is a splendid one to beholdcexshun is a splendid one to beholdcexshun is a splendid one to beholdcexshun is a splendid one to beholdcexshun is a splendid one to beholdcexshun is a splendid one to beholdcexshun is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Whos Used SBS Company Web?

There are way too many variables here to be sure, but it sounds like a DNS issue.

On your machine, do an nslookup for the hostname, and then do the same on another machine that's not working. From the description of the issue, I suspect the other machine will not be able to resolve the hostname.

I assume you are attempting to serve a website via ISS? Did you check the properties of the website under IIS and make sure that
1) You are not filtering IPs
2) All accounts have permissions

cexshun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 06:28 PM #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 42
Rep Power: 0
Reaver789 is on a distinguished road
Reaver789 Reaver789 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 42
Rep Power: 0
Reaver789 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Whos Used SBS Company Web?

Most Microsoft web Software uses a different standard, just like internet explorer, so it might not work with most PC with Firefox or that don't have certain Settings on, also many times software like that changes your DNS settings without you knowing.
Reaver789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 10:20 AM #4
lamborgini8's Avatar
Class 3R Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,521
Rep Power: 110
lamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to lamborgini8
lamborgini8 lamborgini8 is offline
Class 3R Laser
lamborgini8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,521
Rep Power: 110
lamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to lamborgini8
Default Re: Whos Used SBS Company Web?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cexshun
There are way too many variables here to be sure, but it sounds like a DNS issue.

On your machine, do an nslookup for the hostname, and then do the same on another machine that's not working. From the description of the issue, I suspect the other machine will not be able to resolve the hostname.

I assume you are attempting to serve a website via ISS? Did you check the properties of the website under IIS and make sure that
1) You are not filtering IPs
2) All accounts have permissions
How do I do a nslookup? It's just going to get my IP right? and what is IIS?

Edit:
Found the IIS on the server but I can't find much on the settings for it. If I right click on companyweb and click permissions the account 'Users' which is for every computer is already there. I have tried giving access to one person and that didnt work and I tried adding the whole work network to the granted access part and it didn't work either.

I really am lost now, most sites on google are saying to reinstall it but that is not an option.
__________________
DL - Viper 75mW - Green (532nm)
DL - 50mW Module - Green (532nm)
DIY - 50mW - 12k Scanner - Green (532nm)
DeviantArt - Ian Salter
lamborgini8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 11:13 AM #5
Class 1M Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 182
Rep Power: 10
kernelpanic is on a distinguished road
kernelpanic kernelpanic is offline
Class 1M Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 182
Rep Power: 10
kernelpanic is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Whos Used SBS Company Web?

lamborgini8,
The first thing to do is right click the broken link and go to 'properties'. Ensure the URL is valid and matches the hostname.

Then, open a dos command prompt and type 'nslookup <servername>'. Try browsing to the IP address instead of the hostname.

post back your results...

cheers,
kernelpanic
kernelpanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 11:59 AM #6
lamborgini8's Avatar
Class 3R Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,521
Rep Power: 110
lamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to lamborgini8
lamborgini8 lamborgini8 is offline
Class 3R Laser
lamborgini8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,521
Rep Power: 110
lamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to lamborgini8
Default Re: Whos Used SBS Company Web?

Ok, just stumbled across something that might be of use to this. We had a little issue with OpenDNS randomly turning itself on, at the time when it was enabled on my computer I could access companyweb but it was blocking other sites.

I have now dissabled it by changing the IP on my machine but it now does the total oposite. The sites that were blocked are now unblocked but companyweb gives me a 404... Just to confirm the clue I tried to get onto companyweb on a computer that has OpenDNS enabled and it has access to companyweb.

This sort of gives me a massive clue that it is the IP causing the problem. Any ideas? I now have administration access so I can change IPs and user accounts.
__________________
DL - Viper 75mW - Green (532nm)
DL - 50mW Module - Green (532nm)
DIY - 50mW - 12k Scanner - Green (532nm)
DeviantArt - Ian Salter
lamborgini8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 01:11 PM #7
Class 1M Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 182
Rep Power: 10
kernelpanic is on a distinguished road
kernelpanic kernelpanic is offline
Class 1M Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 182
Rep Power: 10
kernelpanic is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Whos Used SBS Company Web?

O.K. That is a clue. Are you running a DNS server on the SBS server? If so is it the built-in MS one or is it openDNS?

I ask because it sounds like openDNS resolves only internal sites and youe non-openDNS settings resolve the internet but not the LAN. This points to DNS issues. To narrow it down-

1. Open the IIS service manager. Right click the copmpanyweb sight and look for what IP address is assigned to the webpage. (If you have multiple NICs on the server, you may wish to limit companyweb to the internal one...). At any rate, write this IP down.
2. In 'Administrative Tools' Go to the DNS plugin. Browse to your domain name and add an alias called 'companyweb' with the IP you got from step 1.
3. Open a browser and try to go to companyweb. Remember if you haven't changed the defaults that companyweb will be on port 444, not port 80. So you have to put :444 after the .com part of the URL

Hope this helps,
kernelpanic
kernelpanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 01:20 PM #8
lamborgini8's Avatar
Class 3R Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,521
Rep Power: 110
lamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to lamborgini8
lamborgini8 lamborgini8 is offline
Class 3R Laser
lamborgini8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,521
Rep Power: 110
lamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to lamborgini8
Default Re: Whos Used SBS Company Web?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kernelpanic
O.K. That is a clue. Are you running a DNS server on the SBS server? If so is it the built-in MS one or is it openDNS?

I ask because it sounds like openDNS resolves only internal sites and youe non-openDNS settings resolve the internet but not the LAN. This points to DNS issues. To narrow it down-

1. Open the IIS service manager. Right click the copmpanyweb sight and look for what IP address is assigned to the webpage. (If you have multiple NICs on the server, you may wish to limit companyweb to the internal one...). At any rate, write this IP down.
2. In 'Administrative Tools' Go to the DNS plugin. Browse to your domain name and add an alias called 'companyweb' with the IP you got from step 1.
3. Open a browser and try to go to companyweb. Remember if you haven't changed the defaults that companyweb will be on port 444, not port 80. So you have to put :444 after the .com part of the URL

Hope this helps,
kernelpanic
We are using the default windows DNS, as for putting in the domain... Well the companys online website isn't actually hosted on our own server, thats on a different one which is totally seperate.
__________________
DL - Viper 75mW - Green (532nm)
DL - 50mW Module - Green (532nm)
DIY - 50mW - 12k Scanner - Green (532nm)
DeviantArt - Ian Salter
lamborgini8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 01:24 PM #9
Class 1M Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 182
Rep Power: 10
kernelpanic is on a distinguished road
kernelpanic kernelpanic is offline
Class 1M Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 182
Rep Power: 10
kernelpanic is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Whos Used SBS Company Web?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lamborgini8

We are using the default windows DNS, as for putting in the domain... Well the companys online website isn't actually hosted on our own server, thats on a different one which is totally seperate.
So when you try to open companyweb what URL are you using?
kernelpanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 01:28 PM #10
lamborgini8's Avatar
Class 3R Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,521
Rep Power: 110
lamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to lamborgini8
lamborgini8 lamborgini8 is offline
Class 3R Laser
lamborgini8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,521
Rep Power: 110
lamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to lamborgini8
Default Re: Whos Used SBS Company Web?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kernelpanic
[quote author=lamborgini8 link=1233763340/0#7 date=1234358429]

We are using the default windows DNS, as for putting in the domain... Well the companys online website isn't actually hosted on our own server, thats on a different one which is totally seperate.
So when you try to open companyweb what URL are you using?[/quote]

I just go to http://companyweb/
__________________
DL - Viper 75mW - Green (532nm)
DL - 50mW Module - Green (532nm)
DIY - 50mW - 12k Scanner - Green (532nm)
DeviantArt - Ian Salter
lamborgini8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 01:31 PM #11
Class 1M Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 182
Rep Power: 10
kernelpanic is on a distinguished road
kernelpanic kernelpanic is offline
Class 1M Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 182
Rep Power: 10
kernelpanic is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Whos Used SBS Company Web?

O.K. What happens if you do http://companyweb:444 instead?

cheers,
kernelpanic
kernelpanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 01:41 PM #12
lamborgini8's Avatar
Class 3R Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,521
Rep Power: 110
lamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to lamborgini8
lamborgini8 lamborgini8 is offline
Class 3R Laser
lamborgini8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,521
Rep Power: 110
lamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to lamborgini8
Default Re: Whos Used SBS Company Web?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kernelpanic
O.K. What happens if you do http://companyweb:444 instead?

cheers,
kernelpanic
Comes up with the old 404.
__________________
DL - Viper 75mW - Green (532nm)
DL - 50mW Module - Green (532nm)
DIY - 50mW - 12k Scanner - Green (532nm)
DeviantArt - Ian Salter
lamborgini8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 01:47 PM #13
Class 1M Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 182
Rep Power: 10
kernelpanic is on a distinguished road
kernelpanic kernelpanic is offline
Class 1M Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 182
Rep Power: 10
kernelpanic is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Whos Used SBS Company Web?

404 means that you are connecting to the server but it is unable to provide the page. Do step 1 from my previous post and get the IP/port of the companyweb server. Then try putting that IP into the browser like-

http://<IP>:<port>

If companyweb comes up, then you need to go to DNS and make sure the companyweb entry matches the settings in IIS.

Hope this helps,
kernelpanic
kernelpanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 01:54 PM #14
lamborgini8's Avatar
Class 3R Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,521
Rep Power: 110
lamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to lamborgini8
lamborgini8 lamborgini8 is offline
Class 3R Laser
lamborgini8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,521
Rep Power: 110
lamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to lamborgini8
Default Re: Whos Used SBS Company Web?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kernelpanic
404 means that you are connecting to the server but it is unable to provide the page. Do step 1 from my previous post and get the IP/port of the companyweb server. Then try putting that IP into the browser like-

http://<IP>:<port>

If companyweb comes up, then you need to go to DNS and make sure the companyweb entry matches the settings in IIS.

Hope this helps,
kernelpanic
If I go to the IP it just goes to the Business Server 2003 Welcome Page with a few help links and the companyweb link. If I click the companyweb link it just goes straight to 404.
__________________
DL - Viper 75mW - Green (532nm)
DL - 50mW Module - Green (532nm)
DIY - 50mW - 12k Scanner - Green (532nm)
DeviantArt - Ian Salter
lamborgini8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 02:00 PM #15
Class 1M Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 182
Rep Power: 10
kernelpanic is on a distinguished road
kernelpanic kernelpanic is offline
Class 1M Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 182
Rep Power: 10
kernelpanic is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Whos Used SBS Company Web?

O.K. Have you applied the KB832330 update from Microsoft?-

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/832880

Also What does the IIS properties show for IP/port of companyweb?

And finally, what happens if you go to-

http://companyweb/default.aspx or

http://companyweb:444/default.aspx

cheers,
kernelpanic



kernelpanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 03:03 PM #16
lamborgini8's Avatar
Class 3R Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,521
Rep Power: 110
lamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to lamborgini8
lamborgini8 lamborgini8 is offline
Class 3R Laser
lamborgini8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,521
Rep Power: 110
lamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond reputelamborgini8 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to lamborgini8
Default Re: Whos Used SBS Company Web?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kernelpanic
O.K. Have you applied the KB832330 update from Microsoft?-

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/832880

Also What does the IIS properties show for IP/port of companyweb?

And finally, what happens if you go to-

http://companyweb/default.aspx * or

http://companyweb:444/default.aspx

cheers,
kernelpanic


The IP is set to the same as all other computers, it is 198.162.1.1. The port will be whatever is set to default, I would look but I can't get the keys for the server room at the moment.

Edit: Ports 80 and 444 as you said.
__________________
DL - Viper 75mW - Green (532nm)
DL - 50mW Module - Green (532nm)
DIY - 50mW - 12k Scanner - Green (532nm)
DeviantArt - Ian Salter
lamborgini8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

























Privacy Policy | Advertising Disclaimer | Terms of Use


 


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO
Privacy Policy | Advertising Disclaimer | Terms of Use
Copyright (C) 2017 Laser Pointer Forums, LLC