Old 04-08-2009, 12:22 AM #1
Cereal Eater
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Argentina
Posts: 6,333
Rep Power: 9427
nikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to nikokapo
nikokapo nikokapo is offline
Cereal Eater
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Argentina
Posts: 6,333
Rep Power: 9427
nikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to nikokapo
Default Computer crashes when cloning the second screen

I have an ATI 4850 (512MB) and I was trying to connect my HDTV to the SECOND port. I managed to clone the first screen in order to show the same thing on my monitor and on the TV, I can display regular stuff like the desktop and Opera...but when I try to play a video (not mkv, just regular 350mb .avi) it freezes and restarts.

My guess is that the video card can't handle it (how the heck can a 4850 NOT handle two simple screens..)
or that the PSU isn't enough (which is crazy, because i've got a new 550W psu...4 months old)


I'm using Vista.



Any insight on this?


nikokapo is offline   Reply With Quote


















Old 04-08-2009, 01:29 AM #2
Class 2M Laser
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 797
Rep Power: 77
iewed has a reputation beyond reputeiewed has a reputation beyond reputeiewed has a reputation beyond reputeiewed has a reputation beyond reputeiewed has a reputation beyond reputeiewed has a reputation beyond reputeiewed has a reputation beyond reputeiewed has a reputation beyond reputeiewed has a reputation beyond reputeiewed has a reputation beyond reputeiewed has a reputation beyond repute
iewed iewed is offline
Class 2M Laser
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 797
Rep Power: 77
iewed has a reputation beyond reputeiewed has a reputation beyond reputeiewed has a reputation beyond reputeiewed has a reputation beyond reputeiewed has a reputation beyond reputeiewed has a reputation beyond reputeiewed has a reputation beyond reputeiewed has a reputation beyond reputeiewed has a reputation beyond reputeiewed has a reputation beyond reputeiewed has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Computer crashes when cloning the second scree

Weak PSU is weak.

Toss that "mini-PSU" out and buy your video card the PSU it deserves. I would personally go with 700 Watts +, but I've heard success stories with 600. What's your system rig? If your running multicores, several HDD's, 2+ optical drives, you need a new PSU.

I run with an 800 Watt beast (One line on this thing outputs 60 AMPS!!!) that I snagged for ~$110 new.

Rough estimate on how many watts you'll need.
iewed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 01:39 AM #3
Cereal Eater
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Argentina
Posts: 6,333
Rep Power: 9427
nikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to nikokapo
nikokapo nikokapo is offline
Cereal Eater
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Argentina
Posts: 6,333
Rep Power: 9427
nikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to nikokapo
Default Re: Computer crashes when cloning the second scree

Quote:
Originally Posted by iewed
Weak PSU is weak.

Toss that "mini-PSU" out and buy your video card the PSU it deserves. I would personally go with 700 Watts +, but I've heard success stories with 600. What's your system rig? If your running multicores, several HDD's, 2+ optical drives, you need a new PSU.

I run with an 800 Watt beast (One line on this thing outputs 60 AMPS!!!) that I snagged for ~$110 new.

Rough estimate on how many watts you'll need.

Wrong, man. You don't need more than that, I'm not even maxing out this one, I'm running:

e6300 @ 2.33ghz
4850 OC'd a little bit.
Asus P5B-Deluxe
2GB Ram @ 667
1 Optical drive
1 HDD.

550W is perfect, also, it's a high quality PSU, not the crappy ones that come with the case

If the problem was the PSU then I wouldn't be able to play HD video nor games.
nikokapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 02:08 AM #4
pseudolobster's Avatar
Class 3R Laser
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,734
Rep Power: 487
pseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond repute
pseudolobster pseudolobster is offline
Class 3R Laser
pseudolobster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,734
Rep Power: 487
pseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Computer crashes when cloning the second scree

Yeah, the PSU probably isn't the problem... My system is running 6 harddrives drives in a RAID setup, my processor sucks down 120W, my hd3870 can get up to 90W, my raid card alone draws a good 50W, and I've had no problems running off a 550W PSU.

I'd try setting your video card back to stock speeds and updating your video drivers.

What program are you using to play the videos?
__________________
Custom Text
pseudolobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 02:18 AM #5
Cereal Eater
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Argentina
Posts: 6,333
Rep Power: 9427
nikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to nikokapo
nikokapo nikokapo is offline
Cereal Eater
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Argentina
Posts: 6,333
Rep Power: 9427
nikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to nikokapo
Default Re: Computer crashes when cloning the second scree

Quote:
Originally Posted by pseudolobster
Yeah, the PSU probably isn't the problem... My system is running 6 harddrives drives in a RAID setup, my processor sucks down 120W, my hd3870 can get up to 90W, my raid card alone draws a good 50W, and I've had no problems running off a 550W PSU.

I'd try setting your video card back to stock speeds and updating your video drivers.

What program are you using to play the videos?
Drivers shouldn't need an update, I'm just 2 driver versions behind because the newer ones lower performance on some games.

Programs I tried: BSplayer / Media Player Classic.
nikokapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 02:40 AM #6
pseudolobster's Avatar
Class 3R Laser
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,734
Rep Power: 487
pseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond repute
pseudolobster pseudolobster is offline
Class 3R Laser
pseudolobster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,734
Rep Power: 487
pseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Computer crashes when cloning the second scree

Might want to try VLC, it has its own codecs built in, so if it's any problem with a codec crashing things, VLC might work..

Otherwise, I'd still clock my video card back to stock speeds, that can't be helping... Once you've worked everything out you could look at overclocking it again.

Also, right click on My Computer, go to Properties (hmm, I hope you aren't using some argentinian version of windows, I don't know spanish...) then go to the Advanced tab, and under Startup and Recovery, click Settings. In there, under System Failure, there should be a checkbox saying "Automatically restart"... You want to make sure that's not checked, so if it's giving you a blue screen of death before it reboots, you'll actually be able to read it.
__________________
Custom Text
pseudolobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 02:42 AM #7
pseudolobster's Avatar
Class 3R Laser
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,734
Rep Power: 487
pseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond repute
pseudolobster pseudolobster is offline
Class 3R Laser
pseudolobster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,734
Rep Power: 487
pseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond reputepseudolobster has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Computer crashes when cloning the second scree

And if you are able to get it to BSOD, write down the STOP number, as well as any filenames it might say..
__________________
Custom Text
pseudolobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 02:47 AM #8
Cereal Eater
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Argentina
Posts: 6,333
Rep Power: 9427
nikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to nikokapo
nikokapo nikokapo is offline
Cereal Eater
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Argentina
Posts: 6,333
Rep Power: 9427
nikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to nikokapo
Default Re: Computer crashes when cloning the second scree

Quote:
Originally Posted by pseudolobster
And if you are able to get it to BSOD, write down the STOP number, as well as any filenames it might say..
I only get memory *****. I will try clocking it down tomorrow and if I get an error I'll write it down before swearing loudly and resetting the pc :P
Thanks.
nikokapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 04:52 AM #9
MarioMaster's Avatar
Class 3B Laser
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 3,626
Rep Power: 44935
MarioMaster has a reputation beyond reputeMarioMaster has a reputation beyond reputeMarioMaster has a reputation beyond reputeMarioMaster has a reputation beyond reputeMarioMaster has a reputation beyond reputeMarioMaster has a reputation beyond reputeMarioMaster has a reputation beyond reputeMarioMaster has a reputation beyond reputeMarioMaster has a reputation beyond reputeMarioMaster has a reputation beyond reputeMarioMaster has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to MarioMaster
MarioMaster MarioMaster is online now
Class 3B Laser
MarioMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 3,626
Rep Power: 44935
MarioMaster has a reputation beyond reputeMarioMaster has a reputation beyond reputeMarioMaster has a reputation beyond reputeMarioMaster has a reputation beyond reputeMarioMaster has a reputation beyond reputeMarioMaster has a reputation beyond reputeMarioMaster has a reputation beyond reputeMarioMaster has a reputation beyond reputeMarioMaster has a reputation beyond reputeMarioMaster has a reputation beyond reputeMarioMaster has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to MarioMaster
Default Re: Computer crashes when cloning the second scree

My computer only draws in the area of 200 watts with an AMD A64 X2 6000+ (mind you this is the 90nm architecture even) an 8600GT, 6gb of ram, and two hard drives.

What brand is the PSU?

But it does definitely sound like a corrupt/bad driver or part of windows.
__________________
ILT 5500KR krypton only air cooled ion 100mW 647.1nm | ILT 5500AR argon only air cooled ion >300mW multiline
Omnichrome 643 air cooled Ar/Kr ion 10mW 676.4nm 647.1nm 568.2nm 488nm 476.2nm (high hours)
Spectra Physics 127 >30mW 632.8nm HeNe | Uniphase 1.5mW 543.5nm GreeNe
Coherent Innova 90 argon ion water cooled ??W (got plasma, alignment in progress)
Coherent 60W 830nm water cooled diode brick | Shenhui Laser 40W 10600nm water cooled CO2

(9:03:50 PM) Picasso: the best guys i saw ever at burning man was two dudes dressed as all green army men shooting pants at naked guys
MarioMaster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 08:29 AM #10
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 374
Rep Power: 0
laser83 is infamous around these partslaser83 is infamous around these partslaser83 is infamous around these partslaser83 is infamous around these partslaser83 is infamous around these parts
Send a message via AIM to laser83
laser83 laser83 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 374
Rep Power: 0
laser83 is infamous around these partslaser83 is infamous around these partslaser83 is infamous around these partslaser83 is infamous around these partslaser83 is infamous around these parts
Send a message via AIM to laser83
Default Re: Computer crashes when cloning the second scree

I can't say for sure, based on what you describe I'd guess it's software related. Before that of course update the driver and reset everything to factory settings. Might sound stupid but double check that you installed the card into the the port properly. A device can be just a little off and one shake will shut down the screen. Has to be set perfect.

I can at least help you rule out the power supply issue http://support.asus.com/PowerSupplyC...Language=en-us That site will calculate your needed power supply.

Power supply is a rarely an issue with PCs unless one has died. I've had similar problems and it's always software related. I usually enjoy fixing errors but buy a new video card if you are in a hurry.

What's the error message you get or does the computer just freeze up? You can find out why it restarted by checking your windows log file.
laser83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 08:46 AM #11
Lotus_Darkrose's Avatar
Class 3R Laser
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,859
Rep Power: 203
Lotus_Darkrose has a reputation beyond reputeLotus_Darkrose has a reputation beyond reputeLotus_Darkrose has a reputation beyond reputeLotus_Darkrose has a reputation beyond reputeLotus_Darkrose has a reputation beyond reputeLotus_Darkrose has a reputation beyond reputeLotus_Darkrose has a reputation beyond reputeLotus_Darkrose has a reputation beyond reputeLotus_Darkrose has a reputation beyond reputeLotus_Darkrose has a reputation beyond reputeLotus_Darkrose has a reputation beyond repute
Lotus_Darkrose Lotus_Darkrose is offline
Class 3R Laser
Lotus_Darkrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,859
Rep Power: 203
Lotus_Darkrose has a reputation beyond reputeLotus_Darkrose has a reputation beyond reputeLotus_Darkrose has a reputation beyond reputeLotus_Darkrose has a reputation beyond reputeLotus_Darkrose has a reputation beyond reputeLotus_Darkrose has a reputation beyond reputeLotus_Darkrose has a reputation beyond reputeLotus_Darkrose has a reputation beyond reputeLotus_Darkrose has a reputation beyond reputeLotus_Darkrose has a reputation beyond reputeLotus_Darkrose has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Computer crashes when cloning the second scree

I just loaded up Titan Quest on my junk desktop and it plays pretty smooth.

My 600w power supply "blew up" a couple weeks ago and I'm using a 300w power supply atm.

3.06 ghz Celeron D single core
2gb ddr ram
512mb ATI HD 2600 AGP (requires power connector from psu)
3 80 gig hard drives all connected
dvd-rw/cd-rw drive
all my usb crap hooked up

My guess is it would also play my copy of Gears of War as well.

I think it relies a lot on the rail voltages of the power supply. I had a crap 500w power supply that wouldnt power a nvidia card I had because the voltage on the rails was insanely low.
__________________
<+vk2fro> mines to operate off two SLA batteries
<+GBD> SLAs? whimp
<+GBD> get a 240V variac and some multiplier :P
<+GBD> then you can have some *real* fun
<+vk2fro> on camping trips where do you expect me to plug that in? a gum tree?
Lotus_Darkrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 04:40 PM #12
Class 4 Laser
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,728
Rep Power: 3030
ElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond repute
ElektroFreak ElektroFreak is offline
Class 4 Laser
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,728
Rep Power: 3030
ElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Computer crashes when cloning the second scree

Did you make sure that you completely uninstalled the drivers for your old card? I use Driver Cleaner Pro, personally. I've seen and heard of things like this happening due to the remnants of the old drivers still being present in the registry.
__________________
Laser Resources (for n00bs and veterans alike!)

Sam's Laser FAQ (The Laser Bible)

http://www.repairfaq.org/sam/laserfaq.htm

RP Photonics Encyclopedia of Laser Physics and Technology

http://www.rp-photonics.com/encyclopedia.html

ULTIMATE DIY PROJECTOR REFERENCE

http://nqlasers.com/scannerreference...itle=Main_Page

SUCCESS is the best revenge.
ElektroFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 05:19 PM #13
Cereal Eater
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Argentina
Posts: 6,333
Rep Power: 9427
nikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to nikokapo
nikokapo nikokapo is offline
Cereal Eater
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Argentina
Posts: 6,333
Rep Power: 9427
nikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond reputenikokapo has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to nikokapo
Default Re: Computer crashes when cloning the second scree

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElektroFreak
Did you make sure that you completely uninstalled the drivers for your old card? I use Driver Cleaner Pro, personally. I've seen and heard of things like this happening due to the remnants of the old drivers still being present in the registry.

Yes, I use it as well. Everything works fine with one display (movies/games/etc). The problem is when I try to play something on the second (cloned) screen.
nikokapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 05:47 PM #14
Class 4 Laser
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,728
Rep Power: 3030
ElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond repute
ElektroFreak ElektroFreak is offline
Class 4 Laser
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,728
Rep Power: 3030
ElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond reputeElektroFreak has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Computer crashes when cloning the second scree

Who manufactured your video card? Is it a genuine ATI card, or one from one of their partners?
__________________
Laser Resources (for n00bs and veterans alike!)

Sam's Laser FAQ (The Laser Bible)

http://www.repairfaq.org/sam/laserfaq.htm

RP Photonics Encyclopedia of Laser Physics and Technology

http://www.rp-photonics.com/encyclopedia.html

ULTIMATE DIY PROJECTOR REFERENCE

http://nqlasers.com/scannerreference...itle=Main_Page

SUCCESS is the best revenge.
ElektroFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 05:53 PM #15
iskor12's Avatar
Class 3R Laser
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,154
Rep Power: 5690
iskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to iskor12
iskor12 iskor12 is offline
Class 3R Laser
iskor12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,154
Rep Power: 5690
iskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to iskor12
Default Re: Computer crashes when cloning the second scree

Is your Processor being OC?
What are your temps? North Bridge?

I had problems just like what you are describing before my MOBO craped out on me. North Bridge was overheating. The problems only got worse.

Your power supply could be in question if it was a cheap brand name.

Find out what the memory dump has in it. Windows does have a decoder for that dump.
Usually blue screen of death is hardware related, but sometimes it can be due to bad drivers or BIOS.


I have a
550W psu that is powering
Q6600 quad core
4gig ddr3
3 hard drives
ati 4870
10 fans

At the most, I have only seen my computer draw 450 W, but it averages about 200W
iskor12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 05:56 PM #16
iskor12's Avatar
Class 3R Laser
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,154
Rep Power: 5690
iskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to iskor12
iskor12 iskor12 is offline
Class 3R Laser
iskor12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,154
Rep Power: 5690
iskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond reputeiskor12 has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to iskor12
Default Re: Computer crashes when cloning the second scree

Quote:
Originally Posted by iewed
Weak PSU is weak.

Toss that &quot;mini-PSU&quot; out and buy your video card the PSU it deserves. I would personally go with 700 Watts +, but I've heard success stories with 600. What's your system rig? If your running multicores, several HDD's, 2+ optical drives, you need a new PSU.

I run with an 800 Watt beast (One line on this thing outputs 60 AMPS!!!) that I snagged for ~$110 new.

Rough estimate on how many watts you'll need.
Neweggs estimation tool is way out of date. WOW
iskor12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

























Privacy Policy | Advertising Disclaimer | Terms of Use


 


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO
Privacy Policy | Advertising Disclaimer | Terms of Use
Copyright (C) 2017 Laser Pointer Forums, LLC