Old 02-28-2010, 07:50 AM #1
Class 2 Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 396
Rep Power: 11
Bearded_Galaxy will become famous soon enough
Bearded_Galaxy Bearded_Galaxy is offline
Class 2 Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 396
Rep Power: 11
Bearded_Galaxy will become famous soon enough
Default Have DMM, but no test load for my FlexDrive

So, I have a FlexDrive, but I (temporarily) lost the free 1-ohm resistors I had. However, I have a DMM and I can measure the Pot. Can anyone tell me what resistance to look for, for the maximum current output? I have it in the 108-412mA range, and I'm powering a red from the LPC sled. The numbers I've seen on here indicate that, with a short duty cycle, it's fine for 400-420mA. Can anyone tell me approximately where to turn the pot to, for maximum-ish current? Just an approximation for where the flat side should be would be enough. Thanks!


Bearded_Galaxy is offline   Reply With Quote


















Old 02-28-2010, 03:53 PM #2
krasnichuk's Avatar
Class 1 Laser
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 81
Rep Power: 9
krasnichuk is on a distinguished road
krasnichuk krasnichuk is offline
Class 1 Laser
krasnichuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 81
Rep Power: 9
krasnichuk is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Have DMM, but no test load for my FlexDrive

if you have a 10ohm or 100 ohm resistor you can use those and just multiply the read by 10 or 100 respectively.
krasnichuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 05:47 PM #3
Class 2 Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 396
Rep Power: 11
Bearded_Galaxy will become famous soon enough
Bearded_Galaxy Bearded_Galaxy is offline
Class 2 Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 396
Rep Power: 11
Bearded_Galaxy will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Have DMM, but no test load for my FlexDrive

Good idea. I don't think I do, but I do have a 25 ohm rheostat, which ought yo work. Thanks.
Bearded_Galaxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 12:49 AM #4
krasnichuk's Avatar
Class 1 Laser
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 81
Rep Power: 9
krasnichuk is on a distinguished road
krasnichuk krasnichuk is offline
Class 1 Laser
krasnichuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 81
Rep Power: 9
krasnichuk is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Have DMM, but no test load for my FlexDrive

yep, just measure the ohm value and multiply your reading by that and you'll have your current setting. the only reason everybody uses 1ohm resistors is because there's not really any math involved :P
krasnichuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 03:52 AM #5
Class 2 Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 396
Rep Power: 11
Bearded_Galaxy will become famous soon enough
Bearded_Galaxy Bearded_Galaxy is offline
Class 2 Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 396
Rep Power: 11
Bearded_Galaxy will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Have DMM, but no test load for my FlexDrive

Except, I already have solder on my FlexDrive, and I don't want to solder a test load to it, after all the soldering I've done already. I just hooked up a diode, and turned the pot, trying it at different places, until I found where it took the least time to light a match. Turned a little more, and not even smoke, so I knew I passed the point at which the resistance reset to a higher amount.
Bearded_Galaxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 03:55 AM #6
krasnichuk's Avatar
Class 1 Laser
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 81
Rep Power: 9
krasnichuk is on a distinguished road
krasnichuk krasnichuk is offline
Class 1 Laser
krasnichuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 81
Rep Power: 9
krasnichuk is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Have DMM, but no test load for my FlexDrive

What is done is done. But what I personally would have done is just used testing wires and a proto board to test everything.
krasnichuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 04:07 AM #7
Class 2 Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 396
Rep Power: 11
Bearded_Galaxy will become famous soon enough
Bearded_Galaxy Bearded_Galaxy is offline
Class 2 Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 396
Rep Power: 11
Bearded_Galaxy will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Have DMM, but no test load for my FlexDrive

Given the choice, me too. And, of course, I also broke part of it, so now I have to get it repaired. Do you happen to know, am I supposed to just send it to DrLava, or should I PM him first?
Bearded_Galaxy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 04:59 AM #8
krasnichuk's Avatar
Class 1 Laser
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 81
Rep Power: 9
krasnichuk is on a distinguished road
krasnichuk krasnichuk is offline
Class 1 Laser
krasnichuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 81
Rep Power: 9
krasnichuk is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Have DMM, but no test load for my FlexDrive

Discussing it with him would be the best thing to start it off with.
krasnichuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

























Privacy Policy | Advertising Disclaimer | Terms of Use


 


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO
Privacy Policy | Advertising Disclaimer | Terms of Use
Copyright (C) 2017 Laser Pointer Forums, LLC