Old 01-28-2008, 04:00 PM #1
Class 2 Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 304
Rep Power: 12
cyclonite will become famous soon enough
cyclonite cyclonite is offline
Class 2 Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 304
Rep Power: 12
cyclonite will become famous soon enough
Default varying output on DDL's LD PSU?

Dear All,

My laser setup using DDL's PSU recently ran out of battery. I was previously powering it with 4 x CR123A Lithium cells putting out a total of 12v.

Recently I bought 4 x CR123 (smaller) batteries and used those but the voltage output is of course still 12v.

The thing is, my LD is now very bright and it seems to be more powerful that it was the last time. I know it's silly to have to ask this here but I have recently re-located to the UK and I don't have a DMM with me at the moment so I can't measure the new current and voltage output that the PSU is putting out.

My question would be, assuming the current and voltage pots on the PSU are untouched, is it possible that the PSU's output has now changed simply because of a change in battery configuration (but same battery voltage)? Wouldn't the PSU's output be 'locked' by the pots and be regulated accordingly?

Thanks guys.


cyclonite is offline   Reply With Quote


















Old 01-28-2008, 06:13 PM #2
Class 2 Laser
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 303
Rep Power: 18
desslok is a splendid one to beholddesslok is a splendid one to beholddesslok is a splendid one to beholddesslok is a splendid one to beholddesslok is a splendid one to beholddesslok is a splendid one to behold
desslok desslok is offline
Class 2 Laser
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 303
Rep Power: 18
desslok is a splendid one to beholddesslok is a splendid one to beholddesslok is a splendid one to beholddesslok is a splendid one to beholddesslok is a splendid one to beholddesslok is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: varying output on DDL's LD PSU?

It shouldn't change much. How many mAh were the old batteries? And the new ones? Ambient temperature differences? I had a similar experience with mine, and what happened is while messing with mine, a connection got jumped, by passing the LM317, and putting almost 400mA to a Stonetek diode. It was SUPER bright and was slicing through black plastic like butter.

Point is, I would double check your circuit, and go buy a $5 meter before you end up burning out your LD.
desslok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 06:38 PM #3
Class 2 Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 304
Rep Power: 12
cyclonite will become famous soon enough
cyclonite cyclonite is offline
Class 2 Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 304
Rep Power: 12
cyclonite will become famous soon enough
Default Re: varying output on DDL's LD PSU?

Hi Desslok,

Well I made the whole thing in a really hot country and now I'm in England and it's Winter so it is much colder here...

I'm sure the older batteries had much higher mAh simply because there were larger but the discharge rate might be a little different.

I don't think I have any shorts on the PSU but I'll check.... my LD isn't as bright as what you described but it is much brighter than it previously was but although I think it's now the 'right' brightness simply because I can now see the beam coming out of it even indoors and it seems that way on people's videos hehehe.

Cheers.
cyclonite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

























Privacy Policy | Advertising Disclaimer | Terms of Use


 


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO
Privacy Policy | Advertising Disclaimer | Terms of Use
Copyright (C) 2017 Laser Pointer Forums, LLC