Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

How do I turn a lazer diod on/off quickly?

LaserLearner

Hello, I am new to this so be patient. Several years ago I assembled a simple red lazer (5v, 650nm) array to aid in healing sore muscles and joints etc. It works great. Wanted something a little more powerful to penetrate deeper into tissue so I purchased similar 980nm diodes and a $6 pulse generator with the idea that I would limit any heat buildup etc. when using the lazer. I hooked them together and the diode is defineatley pulsing but the intensity is very low. The pulse generator has both TTL and Pwr/Gnd connection points. My diodes are not TTL as up until this now I only needed to understand + /-. Would a TTL diode connected to the TTL connection on the pulse generator solve the problem? Any suggestions?

Thanks.

Hello, I am new to this so be patient. Several years ago I assembled a simple red lazer (5v, 650nm) array to aid in healing sore muscles and joints etc. It works great. Wanted something a little more powerful to penetrate deeper into tissue so I purchased similar 980nm diodes and a $6 pulse generator with the idea that I would limit any heat buildup etc. when using the lazer. I hooked them together and the diode is defineatley pulsing but the intensity is very low. The pulse generator has both TTL and Pwr/Gnd connection points. My diodes are not TTL as up until this now I only needed to understand + /-. Would a TTL diode connected to the TTL connection on the pulse generator solve the problem? Any suggestions?

Thanks.
You need a constant current driver with PWM/TTL input to run the diode. What current are the diodes rated for? What frequency are you trying to pulse them at?