Laser pointer discussion. Read/write reviews of laser pointers and laser pointer companies. Learn about all types of laser pointers and lasers





Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums! If you are looking for a laser pointer or want to compare different laser pointer companies, you may want to check out the LPF Laser Pointer Company Database. The link will open in a new window for your convenience.








Green Laser Pointers by Category Blue Laser Pointers by Category Red Laser Pointers by Category
Yellow Laser Pointers by Category Violet Laser Pointers by Category Orange Laser Pointers by Category
Top Laser Pointers by Power - 1 Watt+ Top Laser Pointers by Power - 500mW+ Top Laser Pointers by Power - 250mW+
Laser Pointer Database High Power Laser Pointers Laser Pointer Diodes
Laser Technology Laser Pointer Parts Lasers by Wavelength
Top 10 Laser Pointer Companies Laser Pointer Company Database Visible Beam Laser Pointers


One laser store meets all your needs

























Go Back   Laser Pointer Forums - Discuss Laser Pointers > Lasers > Tutorials, Help & Repairs



LPF List of Laser Pointer Companies (link opens new window)



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2009, 12:50 AM #1
Mohrenberg's Avatar
Class 4 Laser
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Green Ridge,MO USA
Posts: 6,927
Rep Power: 557
Mohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to Mohrenberg
Mohrenberg Mohrenberg is offline
Class 4 Laser
Mohrenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Green Ridge,MO USA
Posts: 6,927
Rep Power: 557
Mohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to Mohrenberg
Default How to set the Flex Drive's Current.

This video is a bit lengthy. i encountered a common problem....and a solution. I was going to leave it unedited but it was 13 minutes long and youtube's limit is 10. So the edited parts you see are just me fumbling with something or taking forever to do something....no steps are cut out.

Setting a flex drive v5 using a rkcstr test load.


__________________

Http://www.Budgetbeams.com
Mohrenberg is offline   Reply With Quote







LPF List of Laser Pointer Companies (link opens new window)







Old 11-22-2009, 01:09 AM #2
daguin's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sunny Southern California
Posts: 16,636
Rep Power: 1432
daguin has a reputation beyond reputedaguin has a reputation beyond reputedaguin has a reputation beyond reputedaguin has a reputation beyond reputedaguin has a reputation beyond reputedaguin has a reputation beyond reputedaguin has a reputation beyond reputedaguin has a reputation beyond reputedaguin has a reputation beyond reputedaguin has a reputation beyond reputedaguin has a reputation beyond repute
daguin daguin is offline
Super Moderator
daguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sunny Southern California
Posts: 16,636
Rep Power: 1432
daguin has a reputation beyond reputedaguin has a reputation beyond reputedaguin has a reputation beyond reputedaguin has a reputation beyond reputedaguin has a reputation beyond reputedaguin has a reputation beyond reputedaguin has a reputation beyond reputedaguin has a reputation beyond reputedaguin has a reputation beyond reputedaguin has a reputation beyond reputedaguin has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: How to set the Flex Drive's Current.

Dude! Get a set of "extra hands" and a switchable PSU. You are working much too hard.

I also use the "wire jumper" method to set the current range. It is much faster and easier than bridging the resistors with just solder.

Nice instructions though

Peace,
dave
__________________
How To Get Along In and Be Accepted in the Forum

If you got some value out of reading this forum, how about donating $2 to keep it going?
Click Here to donate

Love all, trust a few, do wrong to none.
-William Shakespeare
daguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 01:15 AM #3
ColdStl's Avatar
Class 3R Laser
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central California
Posts: 1,272
Rep Power: 123
ColdStl has a reputation beyond reputeColdStl has a reputation beyond reputeColdStl has a reputation beyond reputeColdStl has a reputation beyond reputeColdStl has a reputation beyond reputeColdStl has a reputation beyond reputeColdStl has a reputation beyond reputeColdStl has a reputation beyond reputeColdStl has a reputation beyond reputeColdStl has a reputation beyond reputeColdStl has a reputation beyond repute
ColdStl ColdStl is offline
Class 3R Laser
ColdStl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central California
Posts: 1,272
Rep Power: 123
ColdStl has a reputation beyond reputeColdStl has a reputation beyond reputeColdStl has a reputation beyond reputeColdStl has a reputation beyond reputeColdStl has a reputation beyond reputeColdStl has a reputation beyond reputeColdStl has a reputation beyond reputeColdStl has a reputation beyond reputeColdStl has a reputation beyond reputeColdStl has a reputation beyond reputeColdStl has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: How to set the Flex Drive's Current.

I haven't watched the whole video yet, but I subscribed to your videos on youtube.
Thanks for doing this. Rckstr used to have a couple of cool videos as well, but I can't find them since the switch over to the new format.

Edit: just found them on youtube too.
ColdStl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 03:49 AM #4
Mohrenberg's Avatar
Class 4 Laser
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Green Ridge,MO USA
Posts: 6,927
Rep Power: 557
Mohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to Mohrenberg
Mohrenberg Mohrenberg is offline
Class 4 Laser
Mohrenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Green Ridge,MO USA
Posts: 6,927
Rep Power: 557
Mohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond reputeMohrenberg has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to Mohrenberg
Default Re: How to set the Flex Drive's Current.

I use to have a set of extra hands with the clips and magnifying glass, not sure where it went.

The problem with hitting a sensitive spot on the pot where you desired current is located....i have ran into that problem before but it wasn't untill i was making this video that i realized i could change the current range and thus change the spot on the pot where the desired current was located, thus moving it out of the sensitive area.
__________________

Http://www.Budgetbeams.com
Mohrenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 03:51 PM #5
pyrotech's Avatar
Class 1 Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 94
Rep Power: 8
pyrotech will become famous soon enough
pyrotech pyrotech is offline
Class 1 Laser
pyrotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 94
Rep Power: 8
pyrotech will become famous soon enough
Default Re: How to set the Flex Drive's Current.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mohrenberg View Post
I use to have a set of extra hands with the clips and magnifying glass, not sure where it went.
Helping hands on sale now at Harbor Freight. $2.99
pyrotech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 06:15 PM #6
Elektrotechniker's Avatar
Class 3B Laser
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,240
Rep Power: 409
Elektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond repute
Elektrotechniker Elektrotechniker is offline
Class 3B Laser
Elektrotechniker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,240
Rep Power: 409
Elektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: How to set the Flex Drive's Current.

What power supply did you use to test the flexdrive with the test load? It may be a silly question but I want to know. Also, is it safe to use my DIY testload?
Elektrotechniker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 07:57 PM #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11
Rep Power: 0
MrLWJPDX is on a distinguished road
MrLWJPDX MrLWJPDX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11
Rep Power: 0
MrLWJPDX is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to set the Flex Drive's Current.

I finaly got around to building a dummy load for testing.
Hooked everything up using 6 diodes in this instance for a BluRay.
Checked everything about 4 times, put power to it.
I got a voltage reading on the output of 4.7 volts, but a mA reading of 12.00
It is a Flex Drive V4 that was set for 215 mA I wanted to reset it for the bluray.
Am I screwing something up or do I have a toast drive?
Thanks for an help.
Larry
MrLWJPDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 08:55 PM #8
Elektrotechniker's Avatar
Class 3B Laser
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,240
Rep Power: 409
Elektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond repute
Elektrotechniker Elektrotechniker is offline
Class 3B Laser
Elektrotechniker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,240
Rep Power: 409
Elektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: How to set the Flex Drive's Current.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrLWJPDX View Post
I finaly got around to building a dummy load for testing.
Hooked everything up using 6 diodes in this instance for a BluRay.
Checked everything about 4 times, put power to it.
I got a voltage reading on the output of 4.7 volts, but a mA reading of 12.00
It is a Flex Drive V4 that was set for 215 mA I wanted to reset it for the bluray.
Am I screwing something up or do I have a toast drive?
Thanks for an help.
Larry
At 215 mA there should be a bridge between the 2 resistors at the right. you would be in the current range of 100-312mA most likely. What current do you want your driver to output now?
Elektrotechniker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 09:15 PM #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11
Rep Power: 0
MrLWJPDX is on a distinguished road
MrLWJPDX MrLWJPDX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11
Rep Power: 0
MrLWJPDX is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to set the Flex Drive's Current.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silvershot View Post
At 215 mA there should be a bridge between the 2 resistors at the right. you would be in the current range of 100-312mA most likely. What current do you want your driver to output now?
Info from Scopeguy was I should set it at about 140-150 mA. For a tested GGW diode.
And yes there is a bridge between two right hand resistors.
What I do not understand is the reading with the dummy load astride the resistor of 12.00 mA Or am I moron and reading it wrong and it really means 120. Mondays make many of us morons so that could be it.
Thanks for the reply.
MrLWJPDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 09:17 PM #10
Elektrotechniker's Avatar
Class 3B Laser
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,240
Rep Power: 409
Elektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond repute
Elektrotechniker Elektrotechniker is offline
Class 3B Laser
Elektrotechniker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,240
Rep Power: 409
Elektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond reputeElektrotechniker has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: How to set the Flex Drive's Current.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrLWJPDX View Post
Info from Scopeguy was I should set it at about 140-150 mA. For a tested GGW diode.
And yes there is a bridge between two right hand resistors.
What I do not understand is the reading with the dummy load astride the resistor of 12.00 mA Or am I moron and reading it wrong and it really means 120. Mondays make many of us morons so that could be it.
Thanks for the reply.
Haha :P Make sure you use the correct reading settings on your DMM.. I have no further info to give you, sorry.
Elektrotechniker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 09:29 PM #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11
Rep Power: 0
MrLWJPDX is on a distinguished road
MrLWJPDX MrLWJPDX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11
Rep Power: 0
MrLWJPDX is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to set the Flex Drive's Current.

Thanks Silvershot.
It is an autorange DMM so that is why i am wondering why I get a 12mA reading.
MrLWJPDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 06:34 PM #12
pyrotech's Avatar
Class 1 Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 94
Rep Power: 8
pyrotech will become famous soon enough
pyrotech pyrotech is offline
Class 1 Laser
pyrotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 94
Rep Power: 8
pyrotech will become famous soon enough
Default Micro Flex Drive problem, too

MrLWJPDX :
Did you ever resolve your problem? I've got the same thing, except I'm bridging all 3 resistors. I get 25mA no matter where the pot is set. I've closely inspected the whole board with a 10x loupe for stray solder bridges and bad joints, it looks good to me. Any Dr Lava experts out there? If there is something I can try, I'd love to save the $23 to replace this brand new driver.
pyrotech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 08:34 PM #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11
Rep Power: 0
MrLWJPDX is on a distinguished road
MrLWJPDX MrLWJPDX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11
Rep Power: 0
MrLWJPDX is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to set the Flex Drive's Current.

pyrotech,
Nope sent an Email to the Dr. Himself back on 11/23.
So far no answer, I am assuming other things are keeping him hopping during the holidays.
Hope get an answer eventually, I have all this cool stuff and no way to play with it yet. Don't want to buy another driver till find out whats going on with this one.
Thanks for checkin in, and Happy New Year to All.
Hope it is better than this one.
MrLWJPDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 11:12 AM #14
Bluefan's Avatar
Class 3R Laser
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,482
Rep Power: 62
Bluefan has a reputation beyond reputeBluefan has a reputation beyond reputeBluefan has a reputation beyond reputeBluefan has a reputation beyond reputeBluefan has a reputation beyond reputeBluefan has a reputation beyond reputeBluefan has a reputation beyond reputeBluefan has a reputation beyond reputeBluefan has a reputation beyond reputeBluefan has a reputation beyond reputeBluefan has a reputation beyond repute
Bluefan Bluefan is offline
Class 3R Laser
Bluefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,482
Rep Power: 62
Bluefan has a reputation beyond reputeBluefan has a reputation beyond reputeBluefan has a reputation beyond reputeBluefan has a reputation beyond reputeBluefan has a reputation beyond reputeBluefan has a reputation beyond reputeBluefan has a reputation beyond reputeBluefan has a reputation beyond reputeBluefan has a reputation beyond reputeBluefan has a reputation beyond reputeBluefan has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: How to set the Flex Drive's Current.

Can the driver supply the voltage needed by the blu-ray diodes? If the driver is powered with 5V, the small voltage drop inside the driver will make it fall below the voltage needed by the diode, so it can't reach the set current. Try supplying the driver with a little higher voltage, say about 1V extra.
Bluefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 04:13 PM #15
pyrotech's Avatar
Class 1 Laser
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 94
Rep Power: 8
pyrotech will become famous soon enough
pyrotech pyrotech is offline
Class 1 Laser
pyrotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 94
Rep Power: 8
pyrotech will become famous soon enough
Default Re: How to set the Flex Drive's Current.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluefan View Post
Can the driver supply the voltage needed by the blu-ray diodes? If the driver is powered with 5V, the small voltage drop inside the driver will make it fall below the voltage needed by the diode, so it can't reach the set current. Try supplying the driver with a little higher voltage, say about 1V extra.
Thanks for the reply, but this driver boosts the voltage to the level needed by the diode, so if there is a small difference needed it will be met by the driver. That's one of the main reasons that so many enthusiasts are quite willing to pay $23 for these little gems.

The problem here is that a couple of us are not able to set our particular drivers at the current (mA) values we expect. This could be due to our own mishandling, as they are TINY and ESD sensitive. We are hoping that some experienced guru will show us the light so we can experience full power ( without having to cough up another $23). And since I've done several of these successfully, I'm wondering if perhaps other users have had and SOLVED this issue in the past. I am looking for their input on a possible solution.

Last edited by pyrotech; 01-01-2010 at 04:16 PM.
pyrotech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 06:30 PM #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11
Rep Power: 0
MrLWJPDX is on a distinguished road
MrLWJPDX MrLWJPDX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11
Rep Power: 0
MrLWJPDX is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How to set the Flex Drive's Current.

Amen.
MrLWJPDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply





Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On











Loading








Green Laser Pointers by Category Blue Laser Pointers by Category Red Laser Pointers by Category
Yellow Laser Pointers by Category Violet Laser Pointers by Category Orange Laser Pointers by Category
Top Laser Pointers by Power - 1 Watt+ Top Laser Pointers by Power - 500mW+ Top Laser Pointers by Power - 250mW+
Laser Pointer Database High Power Laser Pointers Laser Pointer Diodes






Privacy Policy | Advertising Disclaimer | Terms of Use


 


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO
Privacy Policy | Advertising Disclaimer | Terms of Use
Copyright (C) 2017 Laser Pointer Forums, LLC